Project: Cowl 2–Knit

You’ve been waiting for this one, haven’t you?

from tvfanatic

It’s here! The knit cowl! But first–

Well, I have a confession.

This is my first knitting project.

from shoutmeloud

Please don’t make a snap judgment, okay? Just because this is my first, doesn’t mean it’s going to be bad.

And if it is–remember–you were bad your first time, right?

Look at Nicholas Cage.

from wikinotica

He’s been bad since Fast Times at Ridgemont High. 

And what about Orlando Bloom?

from elflady

He sucked in The Lord of the Rings Trilogy but we didn’t notice because of the terse Elvin-speak and long, flowy hair.

But this is not going to be bad. I say this with confidence…because I’m looking at the finished cowl right now.

And it’s pretty good.

from dailyhealthreport

See that face? That’s the face I just made when I looked at this cowl.

That face says, “Yep, I just did that. What.”

But don’t let me sway you with my sweet words. You can judge it for yourself.

Here’s how I did it (and you can too, I assure you!)

Step 1. Select a yarn you’d like have rubbed against your neck for a few hours. I’d suggest actually rubbing it against your neck in the yarn store, just as a pretest for quality, softness, and undefinable essence.

my yarn

I chose a cream colored Alpaca yarn. Whenever I hear/say the word “alpaca” an image from The Emperor’s New Groove always pops into my head.

from haro

If you haven’t seen the movie, you should. But, per usual, the sequels were terrible and I don’t recommend them.

Back to knitting.

Step 2. Cast on about 40.

cast on approx. 40

I say “about” because everyone’s neck/head/shoulder area is different and you should tailor your cowl to your neck/head/shoulder area and not mine.

Step 3. Knit and purl like normal (knitting one row, turning, purling that row, turning, knitting that row, etc.)  for 8 rows.

knit side

purl side

Step 4. After you purl a row, turn and purl another (so that you’re purling when you should be knitting).

Step 5. After that purled row, turn and knit like usual (knitting one row, turning, purling that row, turning, knitting that row, etc.).

transistion

Step 6. Repeat Steps 3-5 until you reach the desired length. This will give an interesting striped pattern to your cowl.

close up of stripes

getting some length

another view

Step 7. Once the desired length is achieved, finish off your knitted piece.

Step 8. I don’t believe in hiding things that are probably pretty obvious anyway. That’s why I chose to crochet the two end seams together and call attention to the seam instead of attempting to sew them together and hope for the best.

crocheting the edge

Step 9. Wear confidently.

finished product

Just a tip. If you also choose to knit with alpaca, you should know 2 things: (1) it is strikingly soft and fun to work with (2) it sheds, and you’ll look like a cat lady.

Holler at a knitter when you see her on the streets.

suck it, martha.

Tags: , ,

Categories: Projects

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

2 Comments on “Project: Cowl 2–Knit”

  1. Wonder Woman
    June 21, 2011 at 11:58 am #

    Holla! – The cowl actually looks good, even though I think everyone looks stupid in a cowl. A cowl neck sweater- awesome. Just the cowl? Ridiculous. 😉 Also, I’ve seen you make that face.

  2. Roger Riddle
    June 21, 2011 at 1:51 pm #

    Well done

Leave a Reply

