Blackberry Crumble

I have a lot of blackberries.

lotta blackberries

Remember how Wonder Woman, Lola BC, and I went picking? We picked pounds. I’ve still got pounds. Well, I had pounds before I made this. Now I have something better–blackberry crumble.

Okay folks, here’s how Wonder Woman and I make blackberry crumble. Most of the credit goes to WW, however, because she told me about this recipe. I just modified it a little.

First, gather the players–

  • 3 1/2 cups fresh blackberries (or however many you want to use)
  • 4 tablespoons white sugar (if your berries aren’t sweet)
  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 2 cups rolled oats
  • 1 1/2 cups packed brown sugar
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons ground cinnamon
  • 1 teaspoon ground nutmeg
  • 1 1/2 cups cold butter

If the berries aren’t sweet, toss them with the white sugar and set aside. Mine were sweet so I didn’t add the extra sugar.

Next, in a largish bowl, combine the dry ingredients–flour, oats, brown sugar, cinnamon, and nutmeg.

the dry ingredients

Next, cut the butter into the dry ingredients.

butter butter butter

I tried to do this with a fork, but to no avail.

unsuccessful

I had to call on the superhero of my kitchen–

THE FOOD PROCESSOR.

from hsn

Let me digress here a little–

I can say with little reservation that THE FOOD PROCESSOR is my favorite kitchen instrument. It does everything. It chops. It slices. It juliennes. It processes. It pulps. It mixes. It doesn’t do the dishes, but I’m pretty sure I just haven’t figured out that function.

Back on topic.

I food processed the butter into the dry ingredients. You’ve achieved the right consistency when its crumbly (hence the clever name of this dish).

pre-processing

post-processing

Spread half of the mixture into the bottom of a greased 9 x 13 pan,

first half in the pan

press down.

pressing down with the back of my hand

Bake the bottom at 350 for about 15 minutes. This prevents it from getting soggy when the rest of the ingredients are added. Soggy crumble just sounds heinous.

After the bottom crust is baked a little, take it out, add the berries,

ummm, blackberries

then spread the rest of the crumble on the top of the berries.

topped and ready to bake

Bake at 350 for about 30-40 minutes, or until you think it’s done. I never use a timer. I don’t own a timer.

Take it out, be careful not burn your mouth with berry juices, and eat that delicious dessert.

suck on this, martha

suck it, martha.


Tags: , , , ,

Categories: Food & Drink

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

3 Comments on “Blackberry Crumble”

  1. Wonder Woman
    June 24, 2011 at 12:55 pm #

    yuuuummmm! I used my hands to mix. I used butter from grass-fed cows with no hormones. I might have used a little too much butter, but I’ll let you taste mine tonight. You can also taste the difference between not cooking the base and cooking the base. I wish I’d just gone with that thought when I was making mine – but day of, it was still good.

  2. June 24, 2011 at 2:46 pm #

    I’d love to try yours! And you can try mine with it baked. I ate some for breakfast. Great with coffee. And I ate some after lunch. Great with nachos. This is just a great dessert.

  3. Norseman
    June 27, 2011 at 11:43 am #

    Cows with no hormones don’t produce milk.

Leave a Reply

