Poultry Poppers

Ah, the Fourth of July.

from free4thofjuly

Sparklers.

from charmed

Freedom.

from howstuffworks

Flag vests.

from costumesupercenter

And food, let’s talk about food.

You have your usuals–the grilled meats, various potatoes, salads, and some unidentifiable casserole.

from annesfood

And the corny red-white-and-blue desserts shaped like flags (it’s not clever by the way–or original).

from circleoffood

So this year, I decided to steer away from the cliched picnic items–hot dogs, ham sandwiches, chips, you get the idea–and inject a little life into my insulated picnic tote.

I fondly call one of the items I made “Poultry Poppers.” They’re portable and delicious.

To make 24 poppers you need to gather:

  • 6 large jalapenos
  • cream cheese
  • mushrooms
  • chicken
  • turkey bacon

First, saute the mushrooms. I do this step first because picking up blazing hot mushrooms to put in a popper was not on my list of chances to take today. This way they have time to cool and you can avoid injury.

sizzling mushrooms

While the mushrooms are sizzling, gather your jalapenos.

jalapenos

Cut them into quarters.

halves about to be quarters

I cut mine into two cylindrical halves and then down the middle of each half. It just seemed easier.

quartering

Scoop out the membrane and seeds of the jalapenos. Since most of the heat of the pepper is housed in these areas, leave some intact if you want more heat.

scooping

Lay out the jalapenos on a cookie sheet. I prefer to line mine with foil because washing unnecessary dishes is silly.

ready to receive filling

Now you should probably think about removing the mushrooms from the heat. They’re probably done now.

Get out your cream cheese.

I love cream cheese

Use a spoon to spread a dollop into each pepper. Use your discretion (and any previous popper experience) to determine the precise amount.

Questions you may ask yourself include: Do I like things extra creamy? Am I watching my fat intake? When I eat a bagel, is it really just a catalyst for cream cheese? Do I like dry foods?

Analyze the data and make a decision.

creamed and ready

Now, place the (cooled down) mushrooms onto the cream cheese. Wonder Woman is allergic to mushrooms (an allergy that I find inconvenient at times), so I made half without.

shroomed

Next, add chicken. I like to save time/energy/money/labor when possible, so I purchased a rotisserie chicken to use for this dish and the rest of my picnic offerings.

chicken (pre-dissection)

Place shreds of chicken onto mushrooms.

protein

Now cut 12 slices of turkey bacon in half and wrap around each jalapeno. I chose turkey bacon for reasons threefold:

  • lower fat content (ok, this was really just a bonus and not a real reason)
  • not everybody eats pork (*cough* El Guapo *cough*)
  • it has a more consistent texture than pork bacon and therefore is more ideal for this recipe

more protein


Now, slip the pan into the oven, bake at 350 until bacon is crispy, which is about 30 minutes.
Enjoy.

ready to eat

suck it, martha.

Tags: , , , , , ,

Categories: Food & Drink

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

5 Comments on “Poultry Poppers”

  1. Wonder Woman
    July 5, 2011 at 11:29 am #

    I’m not sorry if I inconvenience you. I just want to live 🙂 Although one day when I have two days of absolutely nothing to do, I’m going to eat mushrooms again so that I can see if I’m still allergic to them. If you can get over your shellfish allergies and I can inexplicably stop liking whiskey, then I don’t see why I can’t get over my mushroom allergy.

  2. Roger Riddle
    July 5, 2011 at 3:58 pm #

    Those things were good.

  3. Steve Bice
    July 5, 2011 at 5:20 pm #

    as we all know, life is better with bacon.

  4. Earth Momma
    July 6, 2011 at 9:21 am #

    Life is also better with cream cheese. I can think of nothing that is not made better with cream cheese. And I have a house full of people who don’t like onions! How! How do you NOT like onions? This is ridiculous and I refuse to be held back by it. I just cut them in big enough chunks that they can be picked out. Of course- no one is going to DIE if I cook with them so it’s a bit less dramatic.

  5. July 6, 2011 at 10:05 am #

    I love onions. They rank in my top 5 favorite foods. I don’t know how you do that!

Leave a Reply

