The Tailor’s Obsession

My friend The Tailor has a new obsession.

from federatedmedia

No, it’s not the One Ring to bind them all.

It’s…cayenne pepper.

from jcrows

You might not find this strange, but I do.

See, he’s putting it in everything.

Chili (ok, normal),

from esquire

Sweet Potato Chips (normal–except that he eats them raw),

from saladinajar

Morrocan Carrot Salad (odd, but I’ll go with it)

from calgarylibrary

Blackberry Peach Cobbler (okay, now this is weird)

from verisimilleytude

When he told me about that cobbler and how delicious it is, I began thinking.

After all, there are wonderful health benefits to cayenne pepper. Could putting it in dessert somehow make dessert…healthy?

Let’s go over some of the pro’s of cayenne.

Health Benefits of Cayenne Pepper

  • helps maintain (or adjust to) normal blood pressure
  • helps clean arteries
  • lowers LDL (bad)  cholesterol and triglyceride levels
  • aids digestions
  • alleviates constipation
  • can stop a heart attack if mixed with warm water and drunk
  • speeds up healing of stomach ulcers (counter-intuitive, but true)
  • helps rebuild frostbitten tissue
  • can stop internal hemorrhaging if mixed with warm water and drunk
  • can assuage allergies
  • alleviates sore throats when gargled
  • helps heartburn
I could go on. Cayenne pepper is–really–a miracle herb.

from thetraineechef

Upon further reflection, sneaking cayenne into absolutely everything you cook is actually pretty smart. The more you eat, the more you can handle the heat (I’ll never be a poet, but come on, that was close).

from fruitseasons

Maybe I wouldn’t have thought to put cayenne into cobbler, but it just opened  my mind up to a whole new avenue of cayenne-dessert related ideas!

After all, what could be better than a chocolate cake that prevents heart attacks and heals frostbitten flesh?

from tastykitchen

Okay, so I’m not going to make Cayenne Cake today, but maybe someday soon I’ll venture down that path. It sounds too fun to pass up. For now, though, I’m just going to keep cayenne around my kitchen and sprinkle it in more things. Starting with microwave popcorn.

suck it, martha.


Tags: , , , , ,

Categories: Tips

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

9 Comments on “The Tailor’s Obsession”

  1. Roger Riddle
    July 6, 2011 at 10:57 am #

    Pepper and chocolate taste pretty good together, so maybe a chocolate cake wouldn’t be so bad.

  2. Roger Riddle
    July 6, 2011 at 10:58 am #

    Or maybe instead of cake a pepper and chocolate brownie.

  3. Wonder Woman
    July 6, 2011 at 11:07 am #

    Actually, I make a dessert like a molten lava cake that has heavy doses of cayenne pepper in it. It is delicious. On our next couple date night, I’ll make them (pretty simple) with homemade whipped cream and bring them over. You’ll love it. I think it’s a smitten kitchen recipe. Whatever, it’s delicioso!

  4. July 6, 2011 at 11:35 am #

    Hot brownies and hot lava cake both sound excellent. Let’s get on this.

  5. Norseman
    July 6, 2011 at 11:54 am #

    I put cayenne in many things, but I’ve never tried the dessert angle… I think I will stick with the copious amounts in “normal” foods, and leave the desserts alone.

    I look forward to WW and the cap putting forth some small confection-based argument in the future, and I honestly hope to lose this one.

  6. Earth Momma
    July 7, 2011 at 8:55 am #

    I eat dark chocolate with chili powder and it is delicious so it makes sense that brownies would be awesome! There is a slow burn at the back of the flavor that is not overwhelming and is really good. I want to try whatever dessert you come up with.

  7. July 7, 2011 at 10:16 am #

    I’ll bring whatever I come up with to our next dinner party!

  8. July 8, 2011 at 8:19 am #

    Really awesome pimento cheese: Mix shredded sharp cheddar and mayo until it’s kinda smooth. Sprinkle ground cayenne covering the top layer and mix together. Add strained diced pimentos and mix. Voila. Pimento cheese with a kick. It RULES.

  9. July 11, 2011 at 8:52 am #

    Sounds really good! I’m going to try it!

Leave a Reply

