Fried Green Tomatoes

Fried Green Tomatoes is one of the best lesbian movies of all time.

This is the Anne of Green Gables of lesbian films.

Speaking of–did you ever wonder about Anne and Diana? They were “bosom friends,” after all.

from trifle

Anyway, don’t even try to explain to me that Idgie and Ruth were just “best friends.”

Look at that–

from chubbylumpkin

That scene with the bees was my first clue that Idgie and Ruth might be a bit more than “best friends.”

I still think that calling someone a bee charmer might be one of the sexiest things ever.

Still not convinced?

from chubbylumpkin

They made a great couple, though, didn’t they?

I recently watched this movie with my grandparents–and afterwards they just went on and on about how people just aren’t friends like that nowadays, ain’t it a shame?

Yep. It’s a shame.

from imbd

I don’t blame Idgie at all.

from helenice

Or Ruth.

from buzzine

Okay, so after watching the movie (dozens of times) (don’t you love that scene where they barbeque that man? Don’t tell me that’s not typical lesbian behavior.) (Just kidding. About the behavior thing. Great scene, though), I decided to see what all the fuss about fried green tomatoes was about.

They’re delicious.

Here’s how I make them.

First, go out to the garden and pluck some unripe tomatoes. If you don’t have a garden, find someone who does.

green tomatoes

Slice your tomatoes–maybe 1/2 to 3/4 inch thick. I’d gauge about 1 tomato per person.

sliced green tomatoes

Take out 2 bowls–put your dry ingredients in 1. My breading was half all purpose flour and half cornmeal, plus spices. Because I like it flavorful and a little spicy, I mixed in garlic powder, black pepper, cayenne, salt, and a little bit of thyme.

flour, cornmeal, and spices

all mixed together

Put buttermilk in your second bowl.

buttermilk

Now put some oil in a frying pan and heat it up. When it’s ready, take each slice of tomato, and first coat it in buttermilk,

dip in buttermilk

then coat it with the dry batter.

then dip in dry mixture

Put the battered slices in the hot oil and fry until golden brown. You will have to flip them over halfway through the frying.

frying

In order to cut down on some of the fat (and I’m not too big a fan of sizzling oil in my mouth), I put the tomatoes on a paper towel immediately after taking them out of the pan and then blot them with another paper towel to sop up the excess oil.

put on paper towel

Remove from paper towel, put on a plate, and eat.

oh so delicious

close up

look at that beautiful texture

suck it, martha.

Tags: , , , , ,

Categories: Food & Drink

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

3 Comments on “Fried Green Tomatoes”

  1. Steve Bice
    July 20, 2011 at 5:36 pm #

    yummy! try baking them. do all of the prep the same but instead of frying them and smelling up the house,bake them in a 425 degree oven. yum!

  2. July 20, 2011 at 9:17 pm #

    Next time–rest assured–I will bake them! Will they still be crispy?

  3. Earth Momma
    April 29, 2013 at 10:07 am #

    Fried Green Tomatoes and Boys on the Side! I just KNEW those were my people…

Leave a Reply

