Eggplant Parmesan

I recently attended a delightful casual dinner party hosted by Earth Momma and her wonderful wife, who we’ll call Black Hair. The only other attendee was A.T. (like the Appalachian Trail–and just as cool)–

from destiantion360

–so it was intimate, like all the best dinners are.

We sat around, drinking copious amounts of wine while Earth Momma cooked dinner in the kitchen.

from richardxthripp

The dinner was fabulous.

from bethany

We ate Chicken Parmesan–and was cooked/served slightly different than I had ever had it. I liked it so much, I came home and made the vegetarian version using produce I had living in my produce basket.

Eggplant Parmesan, baby.

I didn’t really want to make my own sauce from scratch (time can be an issue,¬†unfortunately), but I also didn’t want to just dump a can of sauce into a pot. Rather unappetizing.

from thislife

The Tailor had recently given me several tomatoes, as had Earth Momma, so I incorporated them into the sauce.

But I’m jumping ahead.

First, gather your vegetables.

produce

Next, chop up your tomatoes. Every time I say the word “tomato” I want to say “Tow-mater” like in Cars.

from fanpop

That movie has ruined my mental image of tomatoes. But I giggle more.

So, chop the tow-maters.

chopped tomatoes

Then put them in a small soup pot.

tomatoes in pot

Now add part of a can of tomato sauce. I prefer to call it a “happy shortcut.”

add the shortcut

While the tomatoes and sauce are simmering, boil water and cook your noodles. I prefer to use whole wheat noodles for reasons threefold:

  1. They are healthier.
  2. They are more filling.
  3. They taste better (to me).

boiling pasta

While the pasta is boiling and the sauce is simmering, chop up your eggplants in to rounds about 3/4 inch thick.

chopped eggplant

Now prepare 2 bowls–one of buttermilk

buttermilk

and one of a half flour/half cornmeal mixture (plus salt).

flour + cornmeal

Dip each slice of eggplant first into the buttermilk,

dipping in buttermilk (sorry its blurry)

then coat with the flour/cornmeal mixture.

dipping in flour + cornmeal

Fry them in a pan of hot oil until they are golden brown.

frying

Don’t forget to flip them so that both sides get cooked.

While everything is boiling, simmering, or frying, chop up some fresh herbs. I just trotted out to my garden and plucked some basil and rosemary.

herbs

Chop up your herbs.

chopped herbs

Now add them to the sauce.

sauce

Your noodles are probably done by now, so drain them, then put them back into the pot.

I’m no Paula Deen–

from imdb

–but we do have the same fake smile. And we both love butter.

Add a little butter to your noodles to keep them from sticking together. You could add olive oil, but I think I speak for Paula as well when I say to use the butter.

pasta with butter

At this point, the sauce should have cooked down just a little and be just right and the eggplants should have been fried to perfection.

Layer it all onto a plate–noodles, sauce, eggplant–then eat.

Oh–and don’t forget to add the parmesan cheese! I usually add so much it obscures the food, so I added after the picture.

Delicious.

suck it, martha

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Food & Drink

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

2 Comments on “Eggplant Parmesan”

  1. Earth Momma
    July 26, 2011 at 2:32 pm #

    Glad you had fun with us and the wine and the kids and dogs and cats and food and the wine. Sometimes the wine is needed to deal with all of the rest and it allows for a more free spirited flair to my cooking. I had never really made chicken parm that way before but it was tasty. The next meal is country style southern comfort food. Any cocktail ideas?

  2. July 26, 2011 at 5:42 pm #

    Mint juleps or mojitos. Or wine. Or anything, really!

Leave a Reply

