Veggie Quesadillas with Herbs & Goat Cheese

I really like dinner.

I also really like it when I cook something on Monday night and I can also use it for Tuesday’s lunch or as a basis for another meal. I call this “Kitchen Efficiency.”

See, I don’t eat this:

from deskofbrian

Since I have to eat a lot of meals at work, and fast food is not an option, I tend to try to make as many portable meals as possible.

So this dinner provides double duty–I get to eat a really good meal, plus I’ll have enough food already cooked to be a base for at least two more meals (that can be portable!).

Aight, gather your veggies.

veggies

I chose squash, zucchini, a bell pepper, an onion, and a mysterious hot pepper out of Earth Momma’s garden. I would normally also include a red or orange bell pepper as well, but I didn’t have either on hand at the time.

Okay, first thing you want to do is chop up your onion.

chopped onions

Then stick them in a pan with some hot olive oil. Saute them until they are golden brown and just beginning to caramelize.

sauteing onions

While the onions are sauteing, chop up your other veggies.

chopped squash, zucchini, and bell pepper

Then throw them into the pan with the onions. You may have to add a little more olive oil at this point.

in the saute pan with the onions

While the veggies are cooking, chop your herbs. I chose basil from my garden. I wanted to keep the flavor profile clean and simple, but you can add as many herbs as you want. Rosemary would probably be a good one to add.

pepper and herbs

chopped pepper and herbs

By now, your sauteed veggies should start to look something like this:

starting to cook down

Keep moving them around in the pan, though, because you don’t want them to stick.

While the veggies are still simmering/sauteing, spread goat cheese on your tortilla of choice. I know that whole wheat tortillas are healthier, but they also have a strange texture and crumble and break really easily. Same for spinach and other novelty tortillas. In my opinion, you just can’t beat a good ol’ white tortilla.

So, spread the cheese then sprinkle with the chopped herbs.

cheese spread on tortilla

Now put some olive oil in a bowl and stir in some more herbs. This is where I went a little crazy. I added oregano, basil, thyme, rosemary, pepper, garlic, and parsley.

herbed olive oil

By now, your veggies should look like this–all steamy and cooked down and beautiful. The leftover vegetables can be refrigerated and used later for more quesadillas, baked potato toppings, mixed with rice and beans for a complete meal, or used as a side to a main entree.

ready

Now spread a healthy portion of the hot vegetables onto the cheesed half of your tortilla.

spread on tortilla

Fold in half, brush with herbed olive oil,

olive oil on tortilla

and put it on your George Foreman Grill.

on the George Foreman

Because it’s the Lean, Mean, Fat Grilling Machine.

from vieestbelle

Let it grill for a few minutes–you might want to check it periodically to make sure it doesn’t burn–

–then remove it from the George Foreman, cut in half (for practical purposes), and eat!

done

I chose to eat my quesadilla with a side of roasted corn and avocado. Viva la Mexico.

dinner

suck it, martha

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Food & Drink

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

3 Comments on “Veggie Quesadillas with Herbs & Goat Cheese”

  1. Norseman
    August 1, 2011 at 1:22 pm #

    Yep… impressed. Perhaps also hungry. Yes. Impressed and hungry.

  2. August 2, 2011 at 7:30 am #

    Thanks!

  3. Earth Momma
    August 3, 2011 at 10:42 am #

    looks delicious. It was a tiny little organic Jalepeno pepper.

Leave a Reply

