Fudgy Brownies

One of my earliest memories is of going to Chic-fil-a with my grandparents to get a brownie. Grandad loved those brownies.

Here’s how it’d go: they’d feed me grilled cheese at their house while I watched Pete’s Dragon,

then we’d hop into their Buick

from combo

and ride to Chic-fil-a.

On the ride over, I would regularly fret that someday–when I could drive–I wouldn’t have a car nearly as nice as this Buick. I remember begging them at one point to leave me that car in their will so that I could drive it when I was 16. Pretty smooth thinking for a 6 year old.

I’ve always been planner.

from ksl

We’d go through the Chic-fil-a drive-through, then ride on home to finish Pete’s Dragon while we ate our brownies.

from cocoa101

These brownies are nothing like the Chic-fil-a brownies, but I can’t help but remember my grandparents and our brief brownie outings every time I eat a brownie.

So here’s how I make brownies–it’s incredibly easy.

Put 2 sticks of butter into a microwavable-safe bowl.

butter

Melt them.

melted butter

Add 2 cups of sugar and 2 teaspoons of vanilla.

sugar and vanilla in the butter

Mix well.

mixed

Add 4 eggs and mix.

eggy mixture

Add 1 cup of AP (all-purpose) flour, 2/3 cups of cocoa powder, 1/2 a teaspoon of baking soda, and 1/2 teaspoon of salt.

dry ingredients in the eggy mixture

Mix well.

mixed

Add 1/2 a bag of chocolate chunks. Mix.

chunks

Spread mixture into a greased 9 x 13 pan.

in the pan

Bake at 350 for about 30 minutes or until an inserted toothpick comes out clean.

Remove from oven, let cool for a few minutes, then cut and serve.

yum

Eat.

suck it, martha.

Tags: , , , , , ,

Categories: Food & Drink

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

2 Comments on “Fudgy Brownies”

  1. August 8, 2011 at 3:49 pm #

    Are they chewy or cakelike?

  2. August 8, 2011 at 5:15 pm #

    The way they are outlined here they are more cake-like. If you cut the recipe in half they suddenly become more chewy.

Leave a Reply

