Things I Like: VII

Sharing, sharing, sharing.

Bottle Glasses

from fab

I really enjoy re-purposing objects that might otherwise get wasted. And I especially like it if the end result is useful and attractive.

(Earth Momma–let’s figure out how to do this.)

Barcelona Chair

Barcelona Chair

Originally designed by Mies van der Rohe for the 1929 International Exhibition in Barcelona, the Barcelona Chair is MY FAVORITE.

(caps = shouting)

I love this chair.

Interesting side note–it’s a perfect cube–3′ x 3′ x 3′.

I love this chair so much I briefly considered getting it tattooed somewhere on my body. I think I had decided that my torso would be the ideal place for a chair tattoo.

Frak, I’m glad I didn’t do that.

Regardless, I love this chair. Wonder Woman and I traveled to Barcelona, Spain, just to see this chair (my idea) and spent an entire day walking around an industrial park area trying to find the original one (also my idea). I think (hope) she had a good time. Our feet hurt after that and we needed a gin and tonic or five.

Side note #2–it has a matching stool.

set

This chair can be yours for only $5080.00. Buy it here.

Sock Cop Clips

from containerstore

Have lots of sad solo socks sitting around your laundry area? I do. Solve the problem–and eliminate the sock hunting game post-laundry–with a Sock Cop Clip. 

Cactus Toothpick Dispenser

from ameico

I can be a sucker for kitschy kitchen stuff. This is no exception.

iQ All-Purpose Cleaner

This environmentally friendly all-purpose cleaner is supposed to last 3 years–and when you run out, simply put a packet of concentrated solution in the empty bottle and fill with tap water.

See–you’re not using harsh chemicals and you’re not creating waste.

Win.

Acrylic Tart Server and Bread Knife

from gracioushome

This serving set is mostly for Wonder Woman and her love of all things polka dotted. I think that the idea is pretty good, but this dot pattern gives me flashbacks to a horribly wallpapered bathroom in the early 90s.

Stoneware Vase

from anthropologie

My dad insists on called pronouncing “vase” like it rhymes with “cause.”

I think this is weird and wonderful. Real flowers would be too much.

Carole Lombard

from dorothysurrenders

Carole Lombard, fabulous movie star who died in 1942, was married to Clark Gable (please tell me you know who that is), was the highest paid star in Hollywood in the late 1930s (making 5 times the yearly salary of the U.S. President), AND she had a Liberty Ship named after her (the SS Carole Lombard).

What a woman.

suck it, martha.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Things I Like

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

2 Comments on “Things I Like: VII”

  1. August 11, 2011 at 9:16 am #

    That chair is fabulous. I also would have hiked through Rome to see it. I have researched the bottle glasses. More work than you would expect so I found other uses for the bottles. Bottle tree, bottle garden border, bottle tiki torches attached to the fence with hardware from Lowe’s. We have lots of bottles. Don’t judge.

  2. August 11, 2011 at 1:17 pm #

    I never judge. I have lotsa corks. What does that say about me?

Leave a Reply

