Current Reads

Want to take a peep into my current reading list?

Not the creepy peeping–

from nowpublic

but rather the “I’ll show you mine” kind of peeping.

from icanhascheezburger

Okay, maybe not even that type of peeping.

Let me let you in on a nugget about me:

I’m always reading multiple books. One is never enough for me.

from travelpod

Yes, it can get a little confusing. No, I don’t have commitment issues. Yes, I probably would get more read if I simply stuck to one book all the way through.

But bitch, it’s my life and reading habits. Get your own.

Here’s what I’m reading right now (or recently finished):

Love, Kisses and a Halo of Truffles by James Beard & Helen Evans Brown

Love, Kisses, and a Halo of Truffles

Don’t let the fat man on the cover scare you away from this book.

Excerpts from letters written between James Beard (who I think of as the male Julia Child) and Helen Evans Brown spanning 1952-1964. The topic is food–what they’ve eaten and where, what they’ve cooked recently, plans for their next cookbook, and food, food, food.

Beautifully written, but I can only read a few pages at a time. So I’ve been plugging away at this one for a while. But it’s worth it.

Water for Elephants by Sara Gruen

Water for Elephants

I’m a little late for this bandwagon. People have been telling me since 2006 to read this book, but I never got around to it. Then I got an iPad and saw it was $4 in the Kindle store, so I impulse-bought it. (I’d like to emphasize that the timing of this selection has nothing to do with the movie coming out).

It’s really good. Set in both a circus (when the main character is young) and a nursing home (when he is old), the narrative flows very smoothly between the 2 eras. It reads quickly and isn’t that deep, but it’s summer, and apparently that’s when it’s okay to read the shallow stuff (I think it’s okay all the time–just read something).

Lost in Shangri-La by Mitchell Zuckoff

Lost in Shangri-La

Another Kindle impulse-buy. Also well worth it. This nonfiction book tells the story of the survivors of a plane crash in the most inaccessible part of New Guinea during the last part of World War II. Well written and felt like reading a piece of fiction instead of a completely true narrative.

The Shell Seekers by Rosamund Pilcher

The Shell Seekers

This is one of my very favorite books.

It’s the story of a life and choices. A perfectly ordinary life and perfectly understandable choices and what those choices mean for the rest of that perfectly ordinary life. Wonderful book.

Bossypants by Tina Fey

Bossypants

Tina Fey can do no wrong. I read this book in 2 days and wanted it to keep going. This book also made me wonder if my current haircut is the shag that Tina had a child. Hmmm….

suck it, martha.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Categories: Life, Media

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Authors You Must Read | suck it, martha - April 22, 2013

    […] Read about what I thought here. […]

Leave a Reply

