Refrigerator Pasta

We all have those days.

from anythinglefthanded

They’re not always bad days–maybe just busy days.

Days when dinner is the last thing on your mind–

from notts

–until you get home and realize that you have nothing prepared or planned.

from womenonethefence

Well.

This is when I make Refrigerator Pasta.

That’s when you take everything out of your refrigerator and put it in some pasta.

from inmagine

It’s not as gross as it sounds.

Trust me.

(note: you, the cook, must display some restraint here; when I said everything in your refrigerator I didn’t really mean everything. Be somewhat selective.)

Earth Momma and some of her crew were sick today, so I told them I’d take over dinner. Here’s one of the best things about Refrigerator Pasta: you can make as much or as little as you need to. So today I made a big ol’ batch.

(note #2: every batch of Refrigerator Pasta is different. What follows is a basic formula for RP. Don’t feel contained by the contents of my fridge on this particular day.)

First I corralled together all of my pasta.

all my pasta

Then I rummaged around and found some veggies. I try to make each dinner as healthy as possible–and since this was also for a sick family it needed to be packed with nutrition.

nutrition

And since there was no meat in my fridge, I decided to include some beans.

Beans in pasta is one of my favorite things.

beans, beans

Last ingredient to gather–

the herbs

the herbs.

Aight, first thing I did was get a pot of water heating. While I waited for the water to boil, I chopped up some veggies.

carrots and onion

I put an onion, some carrots, and some corn in olive oil to begin sautéing.

veggies sautéing

At this point, the water boiled, so I added the pasta and green beans (why mess up an extra pot?).

pasta and green beans

While the veggies were sautéing and the pasta/green beans were boiling, I chopped up a green onion and added it to the sauté pan.

green onions

By this point, the veggies looked like this in the sauté pan:

progress

Next I chopped up the herbs,

chopped herbs. we love 'em

and drained and rinsed the beans. Always drain and rinse canned beans for reasons twofold:

1. drastically reduces sodium content

2. that liquid the beans come in tastes really yucky

rinsed beans

By now the pasta was almost done, so I added some green peas to boil for the last minute. I didn’t want them to be too mushy.

added peas

While the peas bubbled away I added the drained and rinsed beans to the sauté pan to heat up.

beans with the veggies

One last sweep of the fridge unearthed some kidney beans that Wonder Woman had cooked a few days before.

I added them.

bonus beans

While the beans heated up I drained the pasta and green veggies,

drained pasta and green veggies

then put them back into the pot.

back in the pot

Once the beans were hot, I added a few dollops of pre-chopped garlic from a jar to the pan.

garlic

I let it sizzle for about a minute before I added the contents of the pan to the pot and drizzled it all with some olive oil and added the herbs.

yum

Once everything was blended, I grated some cheese I had lurking in my cheese drawer. Yes, I have a cheese drawer.

Irish white cheddar. Jealous?

cheese.

I sprinkled the cheese on the pasta for a little extra oomphf.

After all, my motto (tonight) is, if it could be atrocious, add some cheese.

dinner

It wasn’t atrocious.

close-up

suck it, martha.

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Food & Drink

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

One Comment on “Refrigerator Pasta”

  1. September 18, 2011 at 7:49 am #

    I never thought of it that way, well put!

Leave a Reply

