Current Reads II

Some people watch trashy TV.

from sociallysuperlative

Some people watch really trashy TV.

from freeextras

While I do enjoy the occasional episode of 19 Kids and Counting–

from sodahead

–are there still only 19? Come on Jim Bob and Michelle. You’re losing steam…

I prefer reading a (semi) trashy book to zoning out in front of the tube. Let me qualify that statement–I read way too many difficult books and journal articles to want to read a tome like War & Peace when I get home. Also, I don’t read harlequin  romance novels, or Western romance novels, or romance novels of any kind. I’m more into the suspenseful mystery kind of easy-reading adventure.

I thought, that with my love of sharing, I’d share with you some of my recent and/or favorite easy-readings.

Don’t judge me.

Cross by James Patterson

from jamespatterson

I will read anything that James Patterson writes.

Mystery novel? I’m there.

Biography of Martha Washington? I’m there.

Hallmark card? I’m there.

Paragraph on the back of a cereal box? Yup, I’m there, too.

Patterson’s writing style is fast and informative. Rarely do I stay up past midnight to finish a book, but I will every time I read one of his, unless I’ve planned ahead and started early. Plus he’s a prolific writer, so there’s usually a nice surprise at the library when I go down the “P” aisle.

Blood and Ice by Robert Masello

from strangehorizons

It starts out with a flashback to tragedy–hint: she’s still on life support but is now braindead–then we’re swept away to an Antarctic research station. What started out as a simple month-long assignment from a travel magazine plunges photojournalist Michael into the oddest time of his life.

Alternating between current and historical narrative, Blood and Ice takes an unexpected turn about 2/3 of the way through. I laughed when I figured out the ludicrous twist that was about to unfold.

Lean Mean Thirteen by Janet Evanovich

from goodreads

Exploding taxidermy. That’s all I need to say about it.

(note: I’ve found that books by Janet Evanovich are better to listen to as an audiobook than to read. I begin to feel my IQ dropping if I read them, but I love listening to them.)

Winter Study by Nevada Barr

from towerbooks

One in a series of books about park ranger Anna Pidgeon, Winter Study follows Anna to Isle Royale National Park where a wolf study program is on the brink of collapse.

The thing that I love most about Nevada Barr is not the intense suspense that she weaves into each book, or that she uses the words “ubiquitous” and “miasma” in every book (I counted), but that each book takes place in a different National Park and every book is replete with facts and bits of knowledge.

I’d read anything by Nevada Barr.

Fatally Flaky by Diane Mott Davidson

from bestsellers

One in a series of books about Goldie the Caterer, Diane Mott Davidson writes quirky books that revolve around one of my favorite topics….food. Prepare to be hungry while you read these books. Recipes are in the back of the book.

The cheesy titles also won me over at first read.

Okay, well that’s it for now. Hope you enjoy my list of trusty standbys.

suck it, martha.

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Life, Media

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

5 Comments on “Current Reads II”

  1. September 12, 2011 at 9:14 am #

    When I was pregnant with my second child I couldn’t read anything but mysteries for some reason. I went through all the James Patterson’s which were available at the time. Diane Mott Davidson. Sue Grafton. Sara Paretsky. Janet Evanovich.

    I still read the Janet Evanovich’s as they come out – nice guilty pleasure summer reads when I’m on the beach

    You should try Abby Cooper, Psychic Eye

  2. September 12, 2011 at 8:56 pm #

    I will try Abby out! Thanks for the suggestion!

  3. September 15, 2011 at 8:34 am #

    Good Lord woman, our similarities are begininng to unnerve me a bit…

  4. September 15, 2011 at 9:03 am #

    You’ll get over it, Earth Momma. Everybody wants to be like me…you can too. 🙂

  5. September 28, 2011 at 3:25 pm #

    “Love is the joy of the good, the wonder of the wise, the amazement of the Gods.” ~ Plato

Leave a Reply

