Stuck to My Bulletin Board

First let me apologize for the awful title of this posting. My brain ran dry and this is what was typed by my fingers.

from irundoyou

Anyway, I have a really large bulletin board on the wall above my desk.

This mass of grey has been calling for decoration for many months now, but I had yet to find anything worth pinning up there. After all, I have to look at this every day.

from taitegallery

A picture of a kitten don’t cut it.

from flickr

So I just left it blank…

…until I was perusing an old interior design manual that was about to be discarded. Every so often, in the mass of black and white pictures of the ideal residences, a page of color pictures was inserted.

And they’re T-riffic.

I immediately grabbed a pair of scissors,

from funnyandjokes

and spent the morning (not working) and cutting out these images.

And because I like sharing so much, I thought I’d keep on sharing and let you get a glimpse of what I see every day. It’s a hoot.

from naturefoto

Keep in mind that the following images were in a manual given to interior design students and are examples of good interior design. 

I made these extra large so that you can appreciate all the detail.

kelly couch

Everything in the image above seems cohesive–if awful–except for that floral chair over to the side. Mother-in-law gift, perhaps?

.

bluuuuuuuuue, oh so lonely for you

Oof, I can’t look at that one without hearing Leann Rimes crooning “Blue.” And then I can’t keep from singing it myself. So I usually choose to look away.

.

yikes

Wonder if the leopard was once alive and if it is as offended as I am by the lattice work on the left side.

.

bleek

This one hurts my head. My eyes. My soul. Until you look down at the carpet which is the only nice thing in the room and is incredibly disparate from the rest of it all.

.

Asian Fusion

Yep, Asian Fusion at it’s finest. Except for the hotel bedspread–I dig it.

.

boring

This looks like the living room of every friend my grandmother had. Meh.

.

crikey

This one murders my eyes. If I had to spend any amount of time in this room I’m pretty sure I’d need a few Quaaludes. (I just finished reading some Armistead Maupin. Don’t look at me like that.)

.

yeller

For some reason this one reminds me of family reunions as a kid. Not my fave.

.

boring again

I could work with this. This bathroom is about as big as my bedroom. I’m envisioning a wet bar…right over near the dressing room lights, across from the ample storage in the bathtub.

.

futuristic

I think this was someone’s idea of the future. Shiny plastic easy chairs, lots of metal and yellows…and houndstooth fabric?

.

flower power

Who thought this was a good idea? I count way too many patterns in here.

.

green eggs and ham

I saved the best for last. This one I could live in. The green carpet is a little much, but I love those couches enough to ignore the AstroTurf they’re sitting on.

I hope that these made your day as bright and odd as mine are.

suck it, martha.

Tags: ,

Categories: Life

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

5 Comments on “Stuck to My Bulletin Board”

  1. October 4, 2011 at 8:02 am #

    The really red one you said crikey to? Probably a circle in Hell.

  2. October 4, 2011 at 9:00 am #

    It’s definitely got the Inferno feel.

  3. October 7, 2011 at 8:03 pm #

    That leopard is as offended as you are by the lattice work… thats why he’s looking the other way 🙂 And I really hope this text book isn’t still in use >.>

  4. October 8, 2011 at 1:23 pm #

    No–it’s not in use! 🙂

  5. boko
    February 28, 2012 at 1:09 am #

    New project:
    http://goo.gl/M9NjC

Leave a Reply

