Strawberry Jam

Wonder Woman loves strawberries.

from nickyy93

LOVES strawberries.

from daniundbill

I really like them. I think they’re a wonderful fruit, full of potential for cooking, baking, preserving, and eating raw.

from thatgirlisfunny

They can be a snack or dessert (how many things can you say that about?). There’s even a fictional character named after this luscious fruit.

from babble

And did you know that this is the only food in the world that has it’s seeds on the outside?

It’s a good food.

from flickerriver

But I wouldn’t sell my soul to You-Know-Who (and I don’t mean Voldemort) for a bucket o’ strawberries.

from northernwall

That said–one of my favorite things to do with strawberries is make them into jam. It’s good that I like to do that because Wonder Woman would have made me do it anyway.

So this past strawberry season, WW and I went to go pick strawberries. (note: I realize that strawberry season was months ago. I’m just now getting to this post–don’t be judging on me and just enjoy this out-of-season treat. We’ll do apples soon.)

I made jam.

from madebybedtime

Here’s how I make strawberry jam. (note #2: I am assuming that you, the reader, know the basics of canning and canning safety, so I am not going to go into detail. If you aren’t sure, go here for some basics.)

You need:

  • about 8 pounds of strawberries
  • 8 cups of sugar
  • juice of 2 lemons
  • Mason jars
  • 2 large pots

First,  set a large pot of water to boil. There is no picture of this because you probably know what unboiled water looks like.

Now, cut the tops off of your berries. Leaves don’t make good jam.

tops removed

Once the water in the large pot boils, add your jars and lids. Sanitation saves, people.

In the second pot, add your de-leafed strawberries and lemon juice. Gradually add the sugar.

both pots

Your strawberry mixture will cook down to look something like this:

nom nom

When you have achieved the texture you want (about 20-30 minutes of cooking for me), and your jars are sterilized and dry, you can carefully fill them.

I have a canning set of utensils that has a special Mason jar-shaped funnel. This has proven pricelessly helpful–in the past I just had lots of drippage to clean up.

So fill the jars–not too full–lightly screw on the caps, and submerge in the boiling water bath. This initiates the sealing process.

sealing

After the appropriate amount of time, carefully remove the jars.

Let them cool.

cooling

If you’re Wonder Woman, you will eat this with a spoon. If you’re a normal person you’ll eat it on toast or with peanut butter or something.

suck it, martha.

Tags: , , , ,

Categories: Food & Drink

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

