Apples: Cranberry + Tangerine

Today I died and went to Apple Heaven.

from macwallpapers

Let me start at the beginning (a very good place to start…).

from lyricsdo

I woke up this morning.

It was cold.

The bedroom was warm (thank the ceramic-coiled-space-heater gods), but the rest of the house was… chilly.

from tupperstream

So I assessed my options.

1. Stay in bed like a bum, slightly bored, awfully hungry, and in need of liquid lovin’ (that’d be coffee, folks).

2. Get El Guapo to bring me a toasty breakfast.

3. Get up and make the toasty breakfast myself.

Option 2 was out. I could ask, but nothing would happen. Option 1 was out (re: hungry and caffeine deprived).

Which left Option 3.

I pulled on a coat and dashed to the kitchen,

from gremlindog

put the coffee on and gave breakfast some thought.

There were eggs. Eggs are always good, but just not chilly-Saturday morning special.

from djeni

There were bagels. Also good, just not what I was looking for.

from scienctopia

Then it hit me. This is The Time of  The Apples.

from wikipedia

I grabbed the page of apple ideas that The Tailor had torn from the New York Times and went down the list. Finding one that looked appealing (get it? a-PEAL-ing? Nevermind.), I evaluated the kitchen.

Apples?

Check.

Cranberries?

Check.

Sugar?

Always.

Oranges?

Er….tangerines. Good enough.

Butter?

Never without it. Ever.

Good to go!

So I grabbed the apples and a tangerine–

fruit

–and went about breakfast.

The apples I had were Golden Delicious. While Granny Smith may have been the better choice, I like the texture of a cooked Golden Delicious (even if it does loose a little flavor). For more info, go here.

First thing I did was put some water on to boil. The cranberries I had were dried–great for granola, but not so great for anything else.  And reconstituting cranberries (or any dried berries, for that matter) is easy peasy.

dried cranberries

Once the water was boiling, I tossed about a cup of cranberries into the water and turned the heat off.

pre-re-constituting

They needed to sit for about 15 minutes to plump up again so I went ahead and chopped the apples.

halvsies

cutting into smaller pieces

Once chopped, I put the apples into a sauté pan–

in the pan

–with some butter–

with the butter

–and put it on the stove over low heat.

sizzlin'

While the apples were softening, I zested a tangerine. Since tangerine zest has a softer flavor than orange zest, I zested more than I would have if I had had an orange. The final citrus flavor was also softer than it would have been had I used orange zest.

zester

zesting

zest

Once the apples had softened, the cranberries had plumped,

reconstituted

so I added them to the pan, draining them with a slotted spoon.

cranberries into apples

Then I added a little less than a half a cup of white sugar (I’m going to try brown, next time for kicks),

the sweet stuff

sugar into the pan

and the zest.

zzzzest

I also added just a dash of cinnamon

cinnamon

and a dash of salt. Be careful with the salt.

salt

I stirred it around for a while, letting everything meld together, then I turned off the heat and let it sit for about 2 minutes.

And there it is:

Apple Heaven.

yum

Yum.

To make a complete breakfast, we ate cheese toast (the perennial favorite) on the side.

breakfast

suck it, martha.

Tags: , , ,

Categories: Food & Drink

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

9 Comments on “Apples: Cranberry + Tangerine”

  1. October 24, 2011 at 8:49 am #

    That looks extremely yummy.:)

  2. Stacey
    October 24, 2011 at 4:26 pm #

    Is there cinnamon and sugar on the cheese toast too? If not, there definitely needs to be. Cinnamon and sugar grilled cheese sandwiches are superb!

    • October 24, 2011 at 6:02 pm #

      What a weird combination! It sounds wonderful, though!

  3. October 26, 2011 at 8:41 am #

    I bet this would be awesome over quinoa or oatmeal.

  4. November 3, 2011 at 8:53 am #

    That’s impressive! I think I’m going to try that and either do smaller chunks or blend it so Maddy can join in on the fun. Very cool, Anna Ruth!

  5. November 3, 2011 at 9:08 am #

    Thanks, Chris! If you blended it, it might be more of a special applesauce. Interesting. Let me know how it goes!

  6. November 13, 2011 at 2:51 pm #

    Who did you pay to do your blog? Its really nicely designed I bet that is why you get so much traffic!

  7. Celia C.
    January 13, 2012 at 8:58 am #

    This recipe is gluten free!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Baked Apple Crisp | Let Them Eat Great! - November 27, 2011

    […] seeing a good sautéed apple recipe on Suck It, Martha site, I decided to experiment and make some apple crisp. It’s still a work in progress, but […]

Leave a Reply

