Project: Crocheted Potholders

Potholders are some of the most important items for a well stocked kitchen.

from rijksmuseum

Don’t believe me?

Try removing that hot pan from the oven without a pair. I dare ya. And no, the dish towel doesn’t count.

from camden

See?

Rather than pluck a generic one off a shelf at a big box store, I chose to make mine. I’ve been using the same 4 potholders for years now and they show very little wear ‘n tear. Best part about them is that when they get dirty, I just chuck them into the washer.

from newsone

One important thing to remember, though, when making an item that will come into very close contact with hot things is that you should only use natural fibers.

Synthetic fibers melt.

And that is not good.

from igreenspot

(The above is a picture of melted polyester.)

So I always opt for 100% cotton, and I’ve never had a problem.

So to begin, pick out the yarn you’d like to look at in your kitchen for years to come. If the commitment level scares you, just pick something you like. You can always make another one.

I chose 2 different yarns for this potholder–yellow yarn and a yellowish/white/blueish dyed yarn.

I also used a J-hook.

Because it was more interesting than the yellow one, I chose to demonstrate this potholder-production with the yellowish/white/blueish yarn.

yarn and hook

Begin by making a chain of 22.

22 chained

Turn, and single crochet to the end, then turn.

1 row of single crochet

Keep single crocheting.

getting there

Until you get the size you want.

up to size

Then tie off the end and do the same thing all over again so that you have 2 crocheted squares the exact same size.

both layers

This is important because the potholder is going to have 2 layers, otherwise your fingers will be burnt. Trust me. I know.

Once you have both layers, place them together and single crochet around the 4 sides of the square.

beginning to work around the perimeter

perimeter accomplished

double sided

Once you’re back where you started, if you want a loop to hang your potholder from, chain 7, single crochet back in the original hole, and tie off.

loop

Done.

Make as many as you’d like. They make great gifts.

suck it, martha.

Tags: , , ,

Categories: Projects

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

3 Comments on “Project: Crocheted Potholders”

  1. November 2, 2011 at 4:44 pm #

    While I love these, I now have a serious jones for the button scarf cowl thingies living in the room or requirement…

  2. May 27, 2012 at 2:05 pm #

    Are they really thick enough to protect your hands tho???

    • May 27, 2012 at 5:44 pm #

      I use them every day! So do several other people I’ve made them for, and I think they’re better at protecting than store-bought ones. Make sure you do a double layer, like I’ve shown though. Otherwise, they’re not thick enough.

Leave a Reply

