Grown-Up Beanie Weenies

I recently rediscovered my crockpot.

from glogster

It sat, unused, under my sink for years. Oh, I’d take it out and make chili or some other crockpot-y type thing for parties, but for the most part it just gathered dust.

You might say I was uninspired.

from fiddlesticks

But suddenly my life has gotten incredibly busy. I just don’t have the time I used to have to cook.

And I’m exhausted when I get home.

from passionsandaversions

So now the crockpot is back on the table (metaphorically speaking).

I documented my first foray into The Land of the Crockpot (That Doesn’t Include Chili and the One Random Chicken Dish I Made El Guapo And We Barely Ate) so that you can pull your crockpots out from under your sinks as well.

from bioethics

I decided that I also don’t cook enough dried beans. Canned beans, yes. Dried beans…no. I had a scarring experience that almost included fumigating the house. So no more dried beans.

Until…today.

And it worked. They turned out perfect and delicious. When I got home from work I could smell it through my front door the way you can smell your neighbor’s curries.

from takingcareofcats

So here’s what I did:

I gathered my ingredients.

  • 1 14oz can of diced tomatoes
  • dried rosemary
  • 1 bag of dried Great Northern Beans
  • a jar of chopped garlic (you won’t use the whole jar)
  • 1 onion
  • 1 turkey kielbasa
  • chicken stock
  • red chard (my new favorite food)

First, get out your crockpot. If it’s been under your sink for too long, maybe you should rinse it out, too.

good ol' crockpot

Now, empty the can of tomatoes into the crock pot.

tomatoes

Add a small handful of dried rosemary (I crumbled it a little before adding it)–

rosemary

–and 3 heaping spoonfuls of garlic. If nothing else, the vampires won’t bother you.

garlic

Now grab your onion–

whole onion

–and chop it up.

chopped

Then add it to the pot.

onion in the pot

Now get out your kielbasa and chop it up too.

whole

chopped

Add it and the bag of beans to your pot (like always with dried beans, rinse the beans and pick out the rocks).

sausage and beans

Now add 5 cups of chicken broth to the whole mixture. If you don’t have any broth, add 5 cups up water plus 2 bouillon cubes.

broth

Give everything a good stir–

stirred

–and put a lid on it. Turn the crockpot on Low and leave it alone for 8-9 hours.

lidded

When you get home from work, throw some chard into a sauté pan with olive oil and cook down, adding chicken stock and simmering for about 20 minutes,  just like here.

chard in the pan

simmering

When you’re ready to eat, stir the chard into the crockpot and dig in. It’s delicious.

dinner

suck it martha.

Tags: , , , ,

Categories: Food & Drink

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

4 Comments on “Grown-Up Beanie Weenies”

  1. Stacey
    November 9, 2011 at 11:05 am #

    This looks delicious! I recently found out that kidney beans are toxic in their dry bean form, so be cautious when cooking them in a crock pot if you plan on making chili soon (some suggest boiling in a pot separately before putting them in the crock pot): http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Phytohaemagglutinin

    Oh, and I just got a food processor and mandoline slicer! I am so giddy for Thanksgiving cooking!

  2. November 9, 2011 at 11:36 am #

    Wow, who knew about toxic beans!? Thanks for sharing–I’m going to look into this more. And I LOVE LOVE LOVE my food processor. Have fun. 🙂

  3. Earth Momma
    November 16, 2011 at 9:13 am #

    For those of us more affected by beans, soak dry beans in water the night before crockpotting. It takes away some of the embarassment inducing properties of the beans so everyone has a more pleasant bean eating experience. 🙂

  4. Celia C.
    January 13, 2012 at 8:57 am #

    This recipe is gluten free!

Leave a Reply

