Winter Goals 2011

Before I get down to it, I’d like to express how grateful I am to have a home to return to after the tornado that cut a 27 mile swath through my town. Many of my neighbors weren’t so lucky. Including the ones right next to and across from me.

I’m a lucky, lucky girl.

So, I’ve been mentally compiling a list of all the goals I have for this winter season.

from tobefairely

I don’t know what it is about winter that makes me suddenly want to bake like a maniac, crochet until my fingers are hurty, and grind up meat in different ways….but I do.

I’m pretty sure that in a former life I was Laura Ingalls’ neighbor on the prairie.

from alifeofstyle

In the essence of organization (and to share will you, too, of course) I’ve decided to post my Winter 2011 Goals. Perhaps I will accomplish more this way, knowing that you will know if I failed.

So, here goes:

1. Bake more sweet treats.

Examples of potential winners include:

Apple Cider Cookies from Jewel’s Kitchen.

from jewelskitchen

Molten Chocolate Lava Cake from The Pioneer Woman. (dear Magical Chocolate Goddess, this looks amazing)

from thepioneerwoman

Lavender Shortbread Cookies from Kitchen Mage.

form kitchenmage

2. Use my crockpot more often.

from slowcookertips

A coworker just informed me that while a crockpot is a useful kitchen tool, a pressure cooker is where the money is at. So I am adding amendments to this goal:

  • Amendment 1: Get a pressure cooker
  • Amendment 2: Figure out how to use it.
  • Amendment 3: Use it.

I’ll document my foray into the world of pressure cooking.

No worries.

3. Incorporate more new recipes into everyday life instead of always using my fall-back ones.

Examples of potential winners include:

Roasted Vegetable Enchiladas from Eat, Live, Run.

from eatliverun

Orzo Risotto with Roasted Vegetables from Perry’s Plate.

from perrysplate

Coconut Sweet Potato Bisque from the always reliable Ezra Pound Cake.

from ezrapoundcake

Leek and Swiss Chard Tart from Smitten Kitchen.

from smittenkitchen

Chicken and Dumplings with Tarragon from Well Fed.

from wellfed

4. Finish the damn Granny-line blanket I’ve been working on (and by working on I mean it’s been sitting in a basket) since June.

how much I've done

This is how much I’ve done. The corkscrew is for scale.

It’s a little pathetic, I think.

I’ll post about it when it’s done….

5. Start and then finish the embroidery idea I’ve been brainstorming about for weeks.

from embroiderydesigns

I seem to be at my embroidery best–as far as inspiration and skill–when I’m watching Dr. Quinn, Medicine Woman.

from beyondmedia

Now Netflix needs to put this series on Instant so that I can marathon it instead waiting (im)patiently for the discs to come.

6. Bake more breads and non-sweet treats.

from patricklynch

I like sweets ok. But a sweet tooth I have not.

If you really want to tempt me, put a loaf of rye in front of me.

Or onion rolls.

Or sesame bagels.

from saltysavorysweet

Especially sesame bagels.

7. Learn to make sausage.

from englishrussia

Ok, I realize that this sounds gross.

And that picture is horrfying.

And maybe it’s a bad idea. But the idea of knowing how my food is made and what’s in it is important to me–and sausages are basically just a step up from hotdogs, and those are full of rat bones. Or something.

Plus, I try to be really picky about what meats I eat–I don’t always succeed. Sometimes you just gotta eat what’s in front of you. Or on the shelf in the deli section.

But sausage making would get me one step closer to being a better meat eater.

And it solves the question “what to get dad for Christmas?”

8. Learn to vary the types of sausage I can make.

from polishsausage

Variations COULD include (I’m not committing):

(a) Vary the meats

  • chicken
  •  turkey
  •  pork (sorry El Guapo)

(b) Vary the fillers

  •  peppers
  1.  jalepenos
  2.  poblanos
  3.  bell
  • spices & such
  1.  sage (without it it’s just sau)
  2. chili flakes 
  3.  fennel
  4. garlic
  5.  onions
  6.  mushrooms (sorry WW)
  •  breadcumbs
  1. wheat
  2.  white
  3. rye
  4.  rice (not technically a bread…but Billy Boy assures me it’ll be delicious)
  • liquids
  1.  Liquid Smoke (for that faux deep, smokiness)
  2.  Worcestershire (it’s really fun to say)
  3.  juices (who knows?)
  • cheeses (you thought I’d forgotten, didn’t you?)
  1. cheddar
  2. smoked gouda
  3. parmesan
  4. goat

More suggestions are welcome. Please comment.

9. Use up the Indian flour that I’ve had in my pantry for a year. 

from abeautifulmosaic

Apparently it’s flour specifically for making chapati (unleavened flatbread).

No ideas how I’m going to do this.

10. Completely understand Russian politics.

from wiki

I didn’t say these were realistic goals.

I suppose I should stop there.

Wish me luck.

suck it, martha.

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Life

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

10 Comments on “Winter Goals 2011”

  1. November 17, 2011 at 7:38 pm #

    Man, those lavender shortbread cookies look great! Also, I love Laura Ingalls Wilder, and I wish there were more everyday references to her. Also, also, I know what you mean about sewing/crafts project. I promised my boyfriend’s mom an embroidery project months and months ago, and I only have the detail work and outlining left, but can’t seem to find the motivation to finish it. But your blanket looks great so far!

    Please document your pressure cooking adventures, because I’m not sure I understand the advantages of owning one yet.

    Also I might copy your goals idea post? Is that OK?!

  2. November 18, 2011 at 7:21 am #

    I would love for you to copy this idea! Let me know when you do–I want to read it.

    And there will be definite documentation of pressure cooking. I have no idea where to start with it!

  3. November 18, 2011 at 7:53 am #

    Pressure cookers are great for cooking things that usually take all day in a very short amount of time. Can we say Iron Chef? I love mine. I can make greens in no time.

    • November 21, 2011 at 10:11 am #

      I can’t wait to make greens in a pressure cooker!

  4. Wonder Woman
    November 18, 2011 at 1:06 pm #

    hmmmm, chicken and dumplings…

    My goals: two baby blankets, one scarf, a pair of gloves, all knit. More chili.

    • November 21, 2011 at 10:12 am #

      Good goals. I want some of that chili.

  5. Roger Riddle
    November 18, 2011 at 1:07 pm #

    I’m looking forward to eating all this great stuff. Except for the pork sausage. Did you know if you batter and deep fry sage leaves that it tastes just like sausage? It’s a great alternative for vegetarians.

    • November 21, 2011 at 10:14 am #

      I had NO idea about that sage thing! You’re a really smart (ass) person!

  6. Earth Momma
    November 21, 2011 at 2:36 pm #

    I have a pressure cooker…but it scares me and I may have lost that little thingy that goes on top. Potentially explosive cookware is frightening. I have had the thing since college because my MeeMaw wanted me to learn how to use it. Scary. Feel free to use me as your guinea pig for the sweets and bring me that flour and we’ll figure out the unleavened bread thing.

  7. November 21, 2011 at 3:49 pm #

    I will bring that flour over!

Leave a Reply

