Savory Bacon, Onion, Pear, Fig, & Bleu Cheese Pie

It’s a long title. But I couldn’t leave out any of those components.

Without Scratch n’ Sniff Technology, there is just no way for me to express to you how potently fragrant this dish was.

from biglegalbrain

It’s just one of the dishes I made for Thanksgiving this year, but I think it’s definitely my favorite one.

from wvau

Without further gushing, here’s how to make this sumptuous treat.

In order to make this, you must make your own pie crust.

from digitalcitizen

See that face? That’s the face I’m making right now.

There is no negotiating this.

from thestudentroom

You must make your own crust.

from cheeseburger

Before you have a panic attack–don’t. Because I have spent the last year and a half on Crust Quest 2010 (and 2011). I have been making pie crust after pie crust, varying little things all the way in an attempt to find the perfect crust.

And, you’re welcome, I think I have.

from totsandgiggles

See, the perfect crust has to have so many character traits.

It must be flaky. Yet strong (who wants a broke lattice?). Taste good. Not greasy. And pliable (that sorta goes along with strong).

Point being, the perfect crust is hard.

And at a later date, I will show you how to make all KINDS of crusts–butter crust, dairy-free crust, whole-grain crust–all of it. But today, I’ll show you how to make my favorite.

A Cream Cheese Butter Crust.

from calicousan

Ahhhhhhhhhh.

Ok, first, get out your ingredients:

  • 2 cups AP flour
  • 1/4 t. baking powder
  • 1/4 t. salt
  • 1 1/2 sticks of butter
  • 4 1/2 ounces of cream cheese
  • 2 T. ice water
  • 1 T. apple cider vinegar

Chop up the butter into somewhat smallish pieces. Put the pieces on a sheet of plastic wrap.

butter

Wrap them up and stick the bundle into the freezer. In order to achieve the best crust possible, the butter needs to be as cold as possible.

wrapped

Now put the AP flour, baking powder, and salt into a plastic bag.

dry ingredients

Stick that into the freezer, too.

After about 30 minutes, take all that stuff out of the freezer.

Put the dry ingredients into your food processor. If you don’t have a food processor, stop reading and go buy one.

They’re that good.

dry stuff in the processor

Pulse a couple of times to combine.

Now add the cream cheese.

cream cheese

Pulse that until it’s combined and has a crumbly texture.

Now add the butter.

butter

Pulse that until the texture is even more crumbly than before and there are no butter chunks.

buttery crumbles

While pulsing, add the liquids. This is what ultimately forms the dough.

dough!

Now, divide the dough into 2 equal parts–1 for the bottom crust, 1 for the top.

Knead the dough into a roundish, flat shape. I hate scraping dough off the counter, so I always lay down plastic wrap and knead it out on that.

starting to knead

It also makes it really easy to transfer the crust to the pie pan.

plastic wrapped in the pie pan

Don’t forget to take out the plastic wrap before add the filling.

without the plastic

If you’re making the pie crust ahead of time, however, leave the plastic wrap on the crust and put it all into the fridge. You want to keep the crust as cold as possible until you put it into the oven. It just makes a better crust.

At this point you can now knead the top layer of crust into shape, or wrap it in plastic wrap and stick it in the fridge to do later.

top layer

Okey dokey, now let’s get down to the filling.

First, gather your ingredients:

  • 6 pieces of turkey bacon
  • 3 pears
  • 2 small (or 1 large) onions
  • handful of figs (about 5)
  • 4 ounces bleu cheese
  • sprinkle of brown sugar
  • cayenne

The first thing I did was fry up the bacon. I wanted the flavor of the bacon to be infused into all the ingredients, and since I was going to use the same pan for cooking all the ingredients it just made sense to do the bacon first.

bacon

While that’s frying, grab your pears–

pears

and chop them.

chopped

At this point, the bacon was done, so I took it out of the pan and set it aside. And I was also cooking 3 other complex dishes…so I forgot to take a picture of the onions.

I’m sorry.

But you know what onions look like.

I caramelized them in butter and then mixed them in with the cooked bacon.

bacon and onions

Then, using the same pan, I put in more butter (we have a love affair) and threw in the chopped figs (also, there’s no picture of the chopping process. I have failed you. Deal with it.).

figs

After they’ve cooked for about a minute, add the pears.

pears...added

Once the pears are the texture you want (I wanted them still a tad firm), remove from the heat. Mix all 4 things together in a bowl.

bacon, onions, figs, & pears

Then add the bleu cheese.

cheese...added

Mix it all together and pour into the pie crust.

Lay the top crust into place. You need vent holes of some shape–I used a cookie cutter to make 3 flowers.

assembled

Slide the pie into the oven (preheated to 350).

After about 20 minutes, take the pie out and brush the top with a beaten egg. This makes the final baked pie crust shiny and pretty.

brushing egg

The pie is done when the crust looks done. I typically don’t time things, but I’m pretty sure it’s in the 40 minute range. But ovens vary.

This pie makes a great side or entree.

yum yum yum

suck it, martha.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Food & Drink

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

2 Comments on “Savory Bacon, Onion, Pear, Fig, & Bleu Cheese Pie”

  1. February 9, 2014 at 3:31 am #

    Amɑzing! Its truly amazing article, I haνe got mucch clear idea
    about from this article.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Apple Pie Fantastico | suck it, martha - December 12, 2011

    […] not hard at all and is so much better.  In fact, I have a great recipe for a cream cheese crust here. I worked for months to get the perfect pie crust and this, so far, is the winner. One thing I […]

Leave a Reply

