Apple Pie Fantastico

El Guapo is upset at me.

from ellen

Ok, that may be overstating things.

He is, however, miffed that I’ve made 2 apple pies in the past 2 weeks and he hasn’t gotten any of it.

from pixdaus

While the next apple pie I make will be for him, this one went to a family thing. They loved it. And we didn’t even have ice cream.

I never understood the cheese thing.

Unless it’s in the crust. Hmmm…..something to ponder for later. I do love dairy fats.  Anyway, the first thing you want to do is make the pie crust.

And if you’re about to roll out a Pillsbury, you can get off your lazy ass and make a real one.

from icanhazcheezburger

It’s not hard at all and is so much better.  In fact, I have a great recipe for a cream cheese crust here. I worked for months to get the perfect pie crust and this, so far, is the winner. One thing I learned though–roll it out thinly. It loses some of the goodness if it’s too thick.

So once the pie crust is chillin’, preheat your oven to 350 and gather the filling ingredients.

First, grab some apples. I chose Granny Smith apples, but if you want to use a different apple, here’s some good info.

Granny Smif

Now chop ’em up! I usually chop mine into bite-sized chunks.

split

chopped

Now throw some butter into a large saucepan.

Paula Deen just smiled

Let it get melty and then add the apples.

apples in the pan

Let them simmer for a few minutes. If you put a lid on the apples, be careful–with a lid they can go from firm to mush quicker than you can say “Bob’s your uncle.”

Once they’ve cooked for a few minutes, add a handful of brown sugar.

sugar

I don’t measure, but I’m pretty sure it’s around 1/2 a cup.

Stir the brown sugar to coat. It will begin to form a glaze.

Now add the spices.

Which spices you add are completely up to you (I know someone who detests cloves. Blasphemy.)

I add:

  • cinnamon (1 1/2 teaspoons)
  • nutmeg (1/2 teaspoon)
  • cloves (1/3 teaspoon)
  • allspice (1/4 teaspoon)
  • pinch of salt

(all measurements are pure estimates) (in reality I have no idea how much I put in) (I add until I smell it really good)

glazed and spiced

Let the apples cook a tidge longer. They should be soft but still have a little firmness to them.

When they’re done, pour them (and that beautiful sugary glaze) into your chilled pie crust.

filled

Then put the top crust on. Don’t’ forget that you need some kind of vent hole. And I feel like if you’ve got to have a vent hole, it might as well be pretty.

(sorry for the terrible lighting)

About 20 minutes into the baking, pull the pie out and brush a beaten egg onto the top. This gives it a firm, shiny look.

brushing an egg

If it’s a dessert pie (and this, of course, is) sprinkle some white sugar on the top.

sugared

Stick it back in the oven for another 30-40 minutes, or until it’s a nice brown.

It doesn’t look like much now, but when it come out of the oven it looks like this:

pie

That’s a damn good pie.

It’s so good, here’s a close up.

close-up

suck it, martha.

Tags: , , , ,

Categories: Food & Drink

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

2 Comments on “Apple Pie Fantastico”

  1. NONNA
    December 13, 2011 at 10:54 am #

    mmmmm…deliscioso captain anna!!!! can we say PINTEREST!?!?

  2. December 15, 2011 at 6:53 am #

    You mean post it on there? I don’t know how to do that! 🙂

Leave a Reply

