Easy Peasy Breakfast Casserole

My mom’s side of the family celebrated Christmas a little early this year. This past weekend, actually.

Now, I love my family, but spending large quantities of time with them–even over the holidays–can be trying.

from ellen

The best Christmas that I’ve ever had with this side of the family was a few years ago when my mom (inadvertently) made penis cookies.

merry christmas

Read the whole story here.

This year wasn’t bad, however. We managed to avoid topics such as:

  • the gays and the evil they propigate
  • how dyed hair proves that you’re not right with The Lord
  • why baptism should always be immersion, and never sprinkling

They have all sorts of fun conversations. I just try not to start wars.

from hellinahandbasket

This year we ended up doing a family brunch instead of dinner, in part because my uncle, who is a Baptist preacher, had to do a funeral later in the day. He shared an interesting story.

Apparently this 70-ish year old lady (who’s funeral he was conducting later in the day) grew up in Alabama but moved to California as soon as she was 18.

from iamkorean

She aspired to be a singer or in show business, but she mostly just wanted to get out of rural Alabama.

from havealittletalk

Once in California, she moved into an apartment complex with two roommates. She met her future husband there–he lived in a nearby unit in the complex.

But that’s not the interesting part.

The really interesting part is who her roommates were:

Liz Meyer

from hrmusic

and Emmylou Harris.

from whenyouawake

Apparently years after this, this unnamed lady (I never got her name…) and her husband went to an Emmylou Harris and Willie Nelson show.

from stillmoving

They went backstage and Emmylou apparently ran to give her a big ol’ hug and they talked for hours. Which left the husband to hang out with Willie.

And we all know what you do when you hang out with Willie.

from everyjoe

Though this was not mentioned at my family’s ultra-conservative Christmas brunch.

(but at least we weren’t talking about abortion this year)

Anyway, one of the main dishes at this brunch was the easiest breakfast casserole you’ve ever thought of making (my mom isn’t really into cooking up complex dishes).

from inthekitchen

I recently made a small one to take to work for a couple of breakfasts.

First, grab your three ingredients:

  • a tube of crescent rolls
  • a log of sausage (isn’t that a terrible phrase?)
  • half a brick of cream cheese

Your arteries are going to go on strike.

Anyway, the first thing you do is start the sausage to browning in a large saucepan.

log of sausage. yum.

While that’s going on, open up your crescents. If your name is Earth Momma, you’ll make your 8 year old do it because the packaging scares you when it pops.

crescents!

Now roll out half of the tube crescent rolls into a greased baking dish. I used a small Pyrex dish because I was only making enough for 3 meals. If you double the recipe it’ll make enough for a 9 x 13 pan.

rolled

Soften the cream cheese and spread it on the layer of crescent rolls as thickly as you want to.

cream cheese

Once the sausage is done,

cooking...

spread it onto the layer of cream cheese.

layer of sausage

At this point, if you feel like there isn’t enough fat represented here, add a sprinkle or two of shredded Cheddar. I would have (I’m not afraid of dairy fats, nossir), but I didn’t have any.

I’d et it all.

After that, just unroll the remaining half of the crescents on top of it all.

unfurled

Bake at 350 for about 30 minutes, or until it is the brownness you desire.

done

It’s very portable and you don’t even need a fork.

suck it, martha.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Categories: Food & Drink

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

6 Comments on “Easy Peasy Breakfast Casserole”

  1. December 15, 2011 at 7:55 am #

    Yes, we *all know* what happens when you hang out with Willie. 😀
    That’s pretty awesome.

  2. December 15, 2011 at 2:35 pm #

    Earth Momma, I feel you on the crescent roll opening thing, but since I don’t plan on having children (by the grace of Glob), I have to open them myself. Now, if someone let me borrow their children…

  3. December 15, 2011 at 2:35 pm #

    Also, that dish is disgusting. I want to eat it now.

  4. December 16, 2011 at 6:52 am #

    Make sure you add cheddar if you have it. That makes it *this* much better and puts a smile on your face.

  5. Earth Momma
    December 19, 2011 at 3:45 pm #

    You should not make fun of me. I really am TOTALLY freaked out by those stupid cans. Although, I’m not so concerned that I will take the potential hit to insure the safety of my children. they are on their own.

  6. December 20, 2011 at 3:06 pm #

    I will always make fun of you regarding those cans. And Jenn. When I dropped your oldest off at her house she brought a can of biscuits out to my car to open for her.

Leave a Reply

