Sausage: Food Processor Style

As you’re probably aware, learning to make sausage is on my “Winter Goals” list. However, as I began my mental journey (mainly….how the hell am I going to do this?), I realized that the method of actual meat grinding was unclear to me.

from rattiganwrites

After copious amounts of research (meaning that The Tailor and I skimmed about 35 books in the bookstore we drink coffee in every morning until we found one that mentioned sausage), I realized that there were 2 main ways to make sausage.

from workwithjess

  • food processor
  • meat grinder

When I embarked on this sausage journey, I did not have a meat grinder. Thanks to El Guapo, my terrific fella, I now have a meat grinder.

from redbubble

(He gets me the most romantic gifts.)

Today’s post will be about the food processor method; I’ll post about the meat grinding method later.

Ok, the first thing you want to do is decide what you want in your sausage, and gather the ingredients.

What I Choose:

  • pork
  • chili flakes
  • jalepenos
  • cheddar
  • fresh sage
  • panko
  • salt

Even though it’s all going into the same place, I like to chop the non-ecoli-bearing ingredients first.

What?

from theneptunes

It’s a thing.

Ok, chop chop.

sage prechopping

sage post-chopping

There were other chopping pictures, but I failed to capture them.

I’m sorry.

from collegecandy

Then chop the meat of your choice into cubes.

prechopping

post-chopping

Add it all to the food processor.

meat, cheese, sage, jalepenos, panko, chili flakes, salt

Pulse until it’s a ground up mush of meat. It should resemble something like this:

meat mush

Form into patties and refrigerate at least 12 hours or up to 3 days. Freeze up to a month if you’re not going to use within 3 days.

pattied

I don’t have a picture of the sausage being cooked or eaten because Earth Momma was giving a brunch and needed the sausages. But you would simply cook it the way that you would cook other patty sausage: fry in a pan until it’s cooked through. You may need to add a little oil to the pan if the sausage doesn’t have enough fat to create it’s own grease.

Next Sausage Quest: meat grinder method.

suck it, martha.

Tags: , , , , ,

Categories: Food & Drink

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

4 Comments on “Sausage: Food Processor Style”

  1. Celia C
    January 2, 2012 at 7:04 am #

    Awesome! Gonna have to find a GF substitute for the panko.

  2. January 2, 2012 at 11:36 am #

    Rice! Just cook a cup of rice and work in as much as you feel is necessary.

  3. January 3, 2012 at 5:32 pm #

    I’m so impressed with you.

    • January 4, 2012 at 9:12 pm #

      Awww, don’t be! I really enjoy your blog, too!

Leave a Reply

