Simple Yellow Cake

I was sitting on the couch the other day, when pangs of hunger struck.

Not little waves that say “I need a snack. Maybe a handful of nuts or a carrot.”

from pattymoraphoto

Nope these pangs were screaming maniacs shouting “I NEED CAKE!”

pawcurious

I knew that resistance was futile.

from rayhigdon

Hey, a good agent, er, cook, knows when to give in to the enemy.

And since I had a brand spanking new Kitchen Aid stand mixer just waiting for me in the kitchen, I did the rational thing and made a cake.

from 123rf

I assessed what I had on hand. These hunger pangs weren’t going to let me go to the store, nossir. I ended up going with a simple yellow cake with homemade whipped cream and suspicious looking strawberries.

First you want to preheat the oven to 350, then grease and flour 2 cake pans. I can’t tell you how important flouring the pan is. Otherwise you’ll end up with broken pieces of cakes when you try to remove them.

floured and greased

Now gather your ingredients:

  • 2 cups AP flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon of salt
  • 2 teaspoons of baking powder
  • 1 1/4 cup white sugar
  • 2 sticks of butter
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 1/4 cup buttermilk
  • 4 eggs
In a small bowl, sift together the flour, salt, and baking powder.

In a larger bowl, cream together the butter and sugar.

look, it's a Kitchen Aid

Add the vanilla whilst it mixes.

creaming

Add the eggs one at a time.

eggs

Once creamed, alternate adding the flour mixture and the milks. Now the secret to this cake is to use both milk and buttermilk.

the secret

adding flour

mixing it all up

You want to be careful not to over mix. Overmixing does terrible things to the gluten and makes the cake more dense.

Divide the batter into the (greased and floured) cake pans.

one of the pans

Slip the cakes into the oven and bake for about 20 minutes or until a toothpick inserted comes out clean.

done

While the cake is baking, you can do what I did and make some whipped cream. It’s really simple.

Just pour some heavy cream into a bowl, add some sugar, and mix until it holds peaks.

whipping

whipped

If you’re like me, you won’t wait until the cake is cooled to cut it, top it with whipped cream, and a suspicious looking strawberry.

hunger pangs....satisfied

Also if you’re like me you won’t stop at one piece and you’ll get a terrible tummy ache.

suck it, martha.

Tags: , , , , ,

Categories: Food & Drink

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

