Asian Turkey Burgers

I was teaching class the other day (my last day as a teacher, y’all) and my students weren’t working on their projects, preferring to discuss Fox News,

from bendoregon

Alvar Aalto,

from revistadiagonal

chicken vs. beef,

from dailyhaha

internet dead zones,

from giantsfootball

and church baptisms.

from andreasblom

It was my last day teaching, and I sure wasn’t going to yell at them from goofing off. Hell, I was surfing Facebook and Google News.

from mydamnchannel

(I should mention here that I am typically an “on it” teacher. I have, in the past, been called “Hell Bitch.”)

from marieclaire

(However, it was the end of the semester and we were all burnt out.)

Well, naturally the conversation rolled around to Furries.

You know, the people who attend conventions dressed like animals to…..”do activities” with other animals?

from freakapedia

They’re the nerds that nerds make fun of.

from furrynewsnetwork

Sometimes class time can be educational and entertaining without me having to say a word.

Apparently a Furry convention happened at the same time as (and in the same hotel as) an Environments for Aging Design conference happened. Bet those elevator rides were awkward.

from timesonline

Well, that story has nothing to do with Asian Turkey Burgers, but I thought it was mighty entertaining anyways.

These burgers do not require a grill or any type of special skill beyond the ability to grate and chop. El Guapo wasn’t totally sold on these burgers, but he ate 3, so they couldn’t have been awful.

from wiki

I quite enjoyed them and will make them again. I think that the only thing I would do differently is substitute parsley for the cilantro (per El Guapo’s suggestion).

The first thing you should do is prepare your side item. Side items are not to be taken lightly.

from androidguys

A good side item can make or break a meal. I can’t tell you how many times I’ve gone to a particular local BBQ joint not because they serve good chicken, but because their fried green tomatoes are The Bomb.

Point is, I think that spicy sweet potato fries are the perfect side for this burger, but they take a while to bake, so you should probably get those going before you do anything else.

The beauty of making your own fries is that you’re in control of the shape; this time I chose round. It was easy.

cut into rounds

I cut up a big sweet potato, laid them out in a single layer on foil drizzled with olive oil, and stuck them in the oven at 350.

drizzled and about to bake

About 20 minutes into it, I flipped them over and dosed them with a heavy sprinkle of cayenne and sea salt.

Okay, once the sweet potatoes were sizzling, I gathered the mix-ins for the turkey burgers.

  • thumb-sized piece of ginger
  • soy sauce (1/4 cup)
  • 1/2 a bunch of cilantro
  • 1 8oz can of water chestnuts
  • 1 bunch of green onions
  • garlic (about 2 tablespoons, chopped)
  • 1 1/2 lbs ground turkey

some of the mix-ins

First I cut up the green onions and sautéed them in a little olive oil.

green onions

Then I grated the ginger into a large bowl.

grating

grated

And then I added the sautéed green onions to the bowl.

green onions

I sautéed  a little garlic in the green onion pan (to make it aromatic) and added that to the bowl.

garlic

Then came the water chestnut, chopped finely.

water chestnuts, chopped

Next I finely chopped up the cilantro and added it to the bowl.

chopped

Then came the meat.

the meat

Lastly, I added the soy sauce and 1/4 cup of water (to keep it all moist).

soy sauce

Next, I squished it all together with my hands and made 4 (large) patties. There are no pictures of this, because I was covered in meat.

I do, however, have a picture of a finished patty.

I just really like saying “patty.”

patty!

I heated some oil in a sauté pan and when it was blazing hot, I added 2 of the patties.

cooking

I put a lid on the pan, and cooked each side 6-7 minutes.

cooking more

At the very end, I added some sliced cheese to the top.

cheese

It got melty.

When I was satisfied that El Guapo and I were not going to get e.coli or staph or whatever you get from raw poultry, I removed the patties from the pan and topped them with avocado.

burger (patty)

By this point, the sweet potato fries were done, and I served them with the burgers.

dinner

suck it, martha.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Categories: Food & Drink

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

4 Comments on “Asian Turkey Burgers”

  1. Earth Momma
    April 30, 2012 at 9:32 am #

    You had me until water chestnuts….

  2. April 30, 2012 at 6:12 pm #

    You can leave them out! They did add a weird crunch.

  3. Celia C
    May 25, 2012 at 10:17 am #

    Yum! Definitely going to try these.
    GF Tip! You can use La Choy brand soy sauce or sub Braggs amino acids for a gluten free version of this. And of course, Udi’s hamburger buns are delish!

Leave a Reply

