How to Make a Pillow

I have a thing for stripes.

Any kind of stripes.

Bold.

from landofnod

Beautiful.

from layoutparks

Pin.

from 320480

Navajo.

from revolveclothing

Nautical.

from searchstylesnap

Tiger.

from sweetu29

(okay, not really, but War Damn Eagle, y’all)

I even like the stripes on baby blankets.

from lilsugar

So when I tell you that I’m planning a stripes-only quilt you shouldn’t be too surprised.

I was recently in a fabric store with a friend, minding my own gosh darn business, determined as hell not to buy anything.

from moneymuch

Riiight.

My strength of will was holding firm until I rounded a corner and saw a whole row of linen-y stripe-y fabric.

They were beautiful.

So beautiful that I grabbed every bolt and ran for the cutting table.

from icanyoucanwecan

And now I have a whole bunch more stuff for that quilt.

from mobile-al

While at the cutting table I sorta fell in love with one of the fabrics. Don’t get me wrong–I love them all. Ask the cutting clerk, who tried to avoid making eye contact with my craft-crazy eyes after the first 3 bolts.

from animalphotos

The fabric that spoke to me was different from the rest, and aside from the stripes, I have no idea why I love it so. But I decided to make some pillows (Can’t have too many pillows. Right?).

Making pillows is easy, but don’t fall for that “just sew 2 squares together” bullshit. That’s only half the battle to making good-lookin’ pillows.

First, find some fabric you adore.

Here’s mine.

my lovely fabric

Okay, maybe that’s not your dream fabric, but don’t be judging on mine.

I like it.

Now decide how big you want your pillows, and cut the fabric to be 1 1/2″ bigger on all 4 sides. Do it for both sides.

squares

Now sew the squares together.

You might logically think that you would sew 3 sides together, leaving one side open.

You’d be wrong.

To achieve perfect corners, start about 2/3 of the way down one side and start there. You’ll end 1/3 of the way down that same side, leaving the middle 1/3 of that end open.

Make sure that you leave at least 1/2 an inch seam allowance. If the fabric frays easily, give it some more.

sewing the edges

Ok. Here’s how you get good-lookin’ pillows.

With the pillow still inside out, take a corner and have it match seam to seam, like in the picture:

seam to seam

Make sure that the 2 seams line up, and then sew a straight line across the corner, making a triangle.

sewing corner

Do the same for all 4 corners.

When you turn it right side out, this is what it should look like:

right side out

Hurrah!

ready to stuff

Now you can stuff it.

Note: This method uses polyfill or some other type of pillow stuffing. Using a pillow form requires a different method, and is typically more expensive (because the pillow form is more expensive than polyfill).

I prefer to slightly overstuff a pillow because they tend to compact a little after some use.

Now, hand sew the opening together. Be careful how you do it–you want to try to hide your stitches.

stuffed

Done.

Now, wasn’t that easy?

I made 2.

suck it, martha.

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Projects

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

2 Comments on “How to Make a Pillow”

  1. June 13, 2012 at 7:19 pm #

    I love them! 🙂

Leave a Reply

