Fabulous Lists, Fabulous Bloggers

Recently, I was nominated for a Fabulous Blogger Award.

my prize

In accepting the Fabulous Blog Ribbon, there are five rules I need to post and follow:

1. Thank the blogger who gave it to me and share the link back to the awarding blog.

2. Name 5 fabulous moments in my life.

3. Name 5 things that I love.

4. Name 5 things I hate.

5. Pass this ribbon to 5 deserving bloggers.

So first, THANK YOU, Danielle of Let Them Eat Great. She is full of tips on how to eat healthily while eating well. You can find her blog here.

I am honored.

2. Five Fabulous Moments in My Life

Well golly. There have been so many, it’s hard to narrow it down to 5.

from definatelie

1. Scoring my first (and only) basket in the last basketball game I ever played.

It was the fifth grade, and I was a gangly, awkward kid with no athletic skills.

from ellen

It was the last 2 minutes of the last game of the season, and my team, which had lost every game that season, was losing pretty horribly.

from destructoid

Then, all of a sudden, the path to the goal opened up, and HELLO I had the ball (which almost never happened).

from superweeds

I dribbled up there, paused, and unskillfully lobbed the ball at the goal.

from clker

And it went in.

from funiacs

It wasn’t until later when I realized that I was such an atrocious player–and my team was losing so horrifically–that the ref had made both teams stand back to give me an uninterrupted chance at scoring.

from hediedformygrins

He probably knew it was my last opportunity for Glory on the Court. And…it was.

This kid never played that magnificent sport again.

from brandonsgameadventure

2. Finding my button collection safe and sound in the local Rec Center office.

It’s a long story, but I thought that my button collection–which I’ve worked on since I was 10–was stolen by a crackhead.

from suchabastard

It wasn’t.

A crackhead stealing a bunch of buttons made sense in the moment. There were even tears.

from idigitaltimes

And when the nice old lady in the Rec Center office gave them to me, I cried again.

from idigitaltimes

I love my buttons.

3. The first time I made good eggs over medium.

It’s hard to make good eggs.

from nonrecipe

I like my whites done, but the yolk still runny, but kind of thickly runny. It’s a precise type of egg, and there is one place in town (besides my kitchen) that gets it right every time (and it’s the kind of place that cooks all it’s meat over real fire).

from wikipedia

4. Watching Avatar the Last Airbender. (the original animated Nickelodeon series, not the movie)

If you’ve never watched this series, get thee a Netflix account and set aside a few days of your life.

from cartoonwatcher

You won’t regret it.

from nickelodeon

El Guapo and I recently finished watching this series (his second time, my first), and I was consistently blown away by the intricate story lines, character development, beautiful animation, and attention to detail.

from animewapers

If I sound like I’m gushing….I may be. And I’m typically not an animated-movie-series type person.

from themarysue

5. When El Guapo gave me an aqua sky Kitchen Aid stand mixer.

One of the main perks of getting married is registering for a Kitchen Aid stand mixer.

from kitchencollection

Now I don’t have to, bitches.

from jimfairthorne

3. Five Things That I Love

1. Coffee

It breathes life into me every morning.

from thecafeallegro

It’s my faithful companion.

from wildaboutpets

It’s versatile. You can drink it hot or iced.

from mydailyrandomness

Strong & black,

from memegenerator

or sweet & blonde.

from talloolahlove

Who knows? Without coffee I may have a totally different personality, but the world will never know.

from becleanwindows

Ever.

2. Thrift stores.

You never know what kind of gem you’ll dig up.

from foxandowl

My best cheese-grater is from a thrift store.

from 123rf

So is my collection of rusty toolboxes.

from noodleandlou

And my carved wooden sea captain.

from etsy

3. Wine

Wine is the friend that’s there for me at the end of the day.

It’s refined.

from profileengine

No one raises a perfectly groomed eyebrow at you if you order a glass of Beaujolais, but try ordering a Golden Shower or a Pan-Galactic Gargle-Blaster and see what happens with that eyebrow.

from ptrez

Also, it’s good for you.

Antioxidants, dontcha know?

And it makes food extra tasty.

And it makes me a much nicer, relaxeder person after a long day at the ol’ job.

from flickr

4. Wearing sweatpants.

It’s tough looking as fly as I do during the day.

from blogue

There’s not many things I like better than getting home from work, taking off my fancy clothes, and putting on some sweats.

from fupsafari

Now don’t misunderstand me. I don’t wear sweats in public.

My momma raised me right. I don’t even go to the mailbox in sweatpants.

from greeneyedjupiter

But they are awfully nice.

5. Sea monster documentaries.

No, I’m not kidding, and no I’m not ashamed.

from sandypothier

I also really like Bigfoot documentaries.

from junkbrosnews

4. Five Things That I Hate

1. When my computer goes on the fritz.

from therecylcer

Right now I’ve got a strobe light show on the right side of my screen.

It’s pretty awful, but all the buttons still work.

from adzuna

2. Being late.

That doesn’t mean I’m never late.

Nope. In fact, I’m often late.

from danthemantrivia

But I really hate it, and feel a peculiar sense of guilt when I am.

from sodahead

3. Roaches.

Holy shit do I hate roaches.

from lair2000

I don’t even like picking them up with a wad of paper towels after they’re dead.

4. Skipping breakfast.

If I skip breakfast, I’m an angry, irritable, cantankerous gal you want to avoid.

from bitchlifestyle

A combination of carbs and protein is essential to transforming me into a person you can interact with reasonably well.

5. Mascots.

I’m terrified of mascots, and you guys–mascots smell fear.

from time

I’ve been chased around baseball stadiums by two tigers, a chicken, and a biscuit eater.

from thebiscuits

That’s a biscuit eater. Understand?

5. Five Deserving Bloggers

Okay, really. Like I could keep it to just five. Instead, I’ll just hit a few excellent food blogs. You really need to check them ALL out.

1. A Year of Inconvenience

For a year, this girl made everything herself.

Everything.

She even made this:

A Year of Inconvenience Sushi

2. Ezra Pound Cake

Well organized, comprehensive, funny, and delicious.

She makes stuff like this:

Ezra Pound Cake Chicken BLT

3. Oven Lovin’

This girl makes all the food you grew up with but never knew how to make. She also makes brand new stuff you just really want to try.

Like this:

Oven Lovin’ Orange Zest Wontons

4. Kitchen Mage

This blog is vast and comprehensive. For example, you want to incorporate more herbs in your cooking? You call on Kitchen Mage.

Maybe try this?

Kitchen Mage Pesto Rolls

5. Everybody Likes Sandwiches

When I’m stumped and hungry, I like to turn to Everybody Likes Sandwiches. Her Spicy Oven Fried Chicken has become a staple.

Now I can’t wait to try this:

Everybody Likes Sandwiches Shaved Summer Vegetable Salad

suck it, martha.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Life, Media

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

