Authors You Must Read

There are some authors who are so all-around good that you can’t single one of their works out.

from phillbarron

I’ve encountered a few over my lifetime, and am always on the lookout for another.

from foxnomad

I may have mentioned a book or two of the following authors in previous posts, but really these guys fall under the “read everything they’ve ever written” category.

from thesoupergirl

So rather than rambling about how gosh darn good they are, let’s just get down to it.

Armistead Maupin

from amoeba

Armistead Maupin writes about a bygone era.

Nope, not pioneer days.

from parentseyes

Nope, not the Revolution.

from mce

And nope, not the age of fiefs and serfdom.

from britannica

His series, Tales of the City,

from wiki

 begins in 1970s San Francisco, pre-AIDs,

from strangebillions

and follows a gaggle of people from young adulthood to the present day as they struggle with getting older and dealing with the deaths of loved ones.

His characters are real, and the issues that they encounter are relevant.

from oldnewyork

Moving to the big city. Sexuality. Transvestites. AIDs. Family.

from glbthistory

Adoption. Cults. Religion vs. homosexuality. Career vs. family.

from guardian

And to top it all off, his books are engrossing and easy to read.

Agatha Christie

from madamguillotine

Holy moly do I love Agatha Christie.

Fairly prolific, Agatha wrote 66 detective novels and 15 collections of short stories under the name Agatha Christie and 6 under the name Mary Westmacott.

from mintparcel

And I read every single one of them before I could drive.

from sodahead

I remember being an impressionable twelve year old and reading And Then There Were None (also published as Ten Little Indians), a book about 10 strangers, stranded on an island, totally cut off from everything. One by one, all ten people are murdered.

And Then There Were none

I hunkered down on the floor by my bed with a flashlight (so my mother wouldn’t see me and make me go to bed) (there was no such thing as an iPad then) and read the entire book in one sitting.

from heatherwhitaker

I couldn’t put it down.

And it scared the shit out of me.

from photobucket

Bottom line: even though Christie died in 1976 at the age of 85, her books are still riveting, clever, well-written, and the plots still keep you guessing. I still pick up an Agatha Christie book every couple of months or so and dive in. You should, too.

Pablo Neruda

from tvtropes

This man’s poetry makes my knees knock and my heart trip.

from myniceprofile

I first heard of Pablo Neruda in a college lit class.

We had been reading The Epic of Gilgamesh,

The Epic of Gilgamesh

Paradise Lost,

Paradise Lost

and The Aeneid.

The Aeneid

I was ready for things to shake up a bit.

Then the professor read Sonnet XVII aloud, and I sold my soul to Pablo Neruda.

from thewriterscoin

I would venture so say that this is the most romanic poetry I’ve ever read. (El Guapo, are you paying attention?)

from futurity

Even translated from the original Spanish, Neruda’s poetry flows beautifully.

I love you because I know no other way
than this: where I does not exist, nor you,
so close that your hand on my chest is my hand,
so close that your eyes close as I fall asleep.

See?

You don’t want to miss out on a word that Neruda wrote.

J. R. R. Tolkien

from mormonsoprano

When I was a kid, every night my dad would read a few chapters of a book aloud to my brothers and me.

from thejosevilson

We worked our way through the whole Little House on the Prairie series,

Little House on the Prairie

biographies of great Americans,

from onesmedia

Little Britches,

Little Britches

and–my favorite–The Lord of the Rings trilogy.

Lord of the Rings

By this point I had already read The Hobbit 6 or 7 times.

The Hobbit

The movies were good, but folks, read the books.

from lildeadlymeesh

No movie, no matter how long, can capture everything a book can.

Tolkien wrote many other fantasy books, as well.

from abebooks

Check ’em out.

Rosamund Pilcher

from leramar

Rosamund Pilcher writes quiet books. They’re not action-heavy, nor are they particularly romance-heavy.

from markgrechanik

She writes about ordinary lives and the choices that steer them.

from robertwilliams

Her most famous work, The Shell Seekers, is one of my favorite books.

The Shell Seekers

Read about what I thought here.

Janet Evanovich

from vjbooks

The books that Janet Evanovich writes are not classy, couth, or wholesome.

from flickr

And they’re great.

The series I’ve quite enjoyed focuses on 30-ish year old bounty hunter Stephanie Plum who loves cake,

from kiwinutritioncounseling

has terrible luck with cars, and tries really, really hard to do a good job.

from wikipedia

Her partner, Lula, is a plus-sized former ho with a penchant for Spandex and fast food.

from 9gag

I don’t think I need to say anything more. You’re probably hooked.

If you’ve got authors you feel I should read, please a comment! I’m always hunting for a good read.

suck it, martha.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Life, Media

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

