Apple Beet Soup

I just returned from a grand adventure.

It was just me and the road.

from barbywithay

from barbywithay

I piled the important stuff into a car (several shirts, some pants, 3 cameras, jellybeans, and a coffee pot), grabbed an atlas (and a GPS, come on, who are we kidding…), and hit the road for parts unknown.

I saw things and did things and ate things.

Like beans cooked over a fire in the middle of nowhere Tennessee.

delicious beans

delicious beans

And I experienced a religiously-themed bicycle. The best part of that was the smaller text to the right. It reads:

“This bike is dedicated to outer space. I hope to ride it on the moon & many of the planets erecting sacred signs.”

religious bicycle

religious bicycle

I also saw the Natural Bridge in Virginia. It was huge.

The people in the image show the scale.

Natural Bridge

Natural Bridge

See? Huge. Mathematicians say that it’s 36,000 tons.

Tons.

I showed this picture to my grandmother, and she innocently asked me if the natural bridge had been moved to that location.

Errrr, no. No, they didn’t move it there.

A few miles down the road from the natural bridge, I discovered this:

FOAMHENGE

FOAMHENGE

It was just as amazing as you might have expected.

I had what I believe they call a “religious experience.”

foamhenge

foamhenge

I also went to a somewhat creepy wax museum.

weird wax frontiersman

weird wax frontiersman

The wax museum had an odd Christian bent to it.

The Last Supper

The Last Supper

I also made some pit stops along the road.

Like to say hello to Yogi,

Yogi Bear

Yogi Bear Statue

to take in the splendor of the Giant Crab,

Giant Crab

Giant Crab

and to eat pierogis when I saw this magnificent edifice.

pierogis

pierogis

They were delicious.

pierogis

pierogis

Speaking of food, I ate some great things.

Like Maine mussels.

mussels

mussels

And Portland sushi.

Portland sushi

Portland sushi

Blueberry muffins and a bottle of blueberry milk.

blueberry confections

blueberry confections

And the best hot dog I ever put in my mouth.

delicious

delicious

I drank a great glass of basil lemonade, too.

basil lemonade

basil lemonade

And I ate lobster.

lobster roll

lobster roll

Lots of lobster.

lobster

lobster

more lobster

more lobster

The best lobster I ate in Maine was from a gazebo in the middle of nowhere.

It was called “The Gazebo.”

The Gazebo

The Gazebo

I also saw beautiful Maine scenery.

Bath, ME

Bath, ME

Acadia National Park was one of the most beautiful most beautiful places I’ve ever been.

So beautiful I need to show you a couple of big pictures.

Acadia National Park

Acadia National Park

See?

Acadia National Park

Acadia National Park

Beautiful.

Even though it was raining, it was incredibly beautiful.

Now, all that traveling meant I didn’t get to eat many fresh fruits and vegetables.

I didn’t eat at Burger King, no sirree.

from mrvaudrey

from mrvaudrey

But I did consume my fair share of crap.

When I got back, all I wanted to do was eat a vegetable.

Any vegetable.

I also had a big bag of beets from the CSA I’m a part of.

What to do with a big bag of beets?

from kardsunlimited

from kardsunlimited

I had some apples, an onion, a lemon, and some ginger.

How about soup?

I found a terrific recipe over at Brokeass Gourmet that had just those ingredients.

Gather:

  • two handfuls of beets (or 3 large beets)
  • a red onion
  • heaping teaspoon of garlic
  • thumb-sized chunk of ginger
  • 2 Fuji apples
  • a lemon
  • handful of parsley
  • olive oil

First thing you want to do is wash your beets, then spread them out to cut.

beets

beets

Cut the stem end and the root end off of each.

cut

cut

Drizzle some olive oil on a foil wrapped pan, place the beets on it–tossing in the oil to coat–and roast the beets for about an hour at 400.

ready to roast

ready to roast (excuse the blurry)

About halfway through you’ll want to flip the beets over.

Now go vacuum your floor, or wash some dishes, or start a load of laundry.

Once the beets have been in the oven for about 45 minutes, begin chopping the onion, ginger, and apples.

chopped onion

chopped onion

ginger

minced ginger

chopped apples

chopped apples

Put them in a soup pot with the garlic. Drizzle some olive oil over it all and let it cook and sizzle.

sizzling

sizzling

While it’s cooking in the pot, remove the beets from the oven, and immediately run them under cold water and peel the skin off.

removing skin

removing skin

Once they’re all skinned, chop them into chunks and add them to the pot with 4 cups of water.

skinned

skinned

beets + water

beets + water

Let it simmer for about 20 minutes or until the apples are soft.

after 20 minutes

after 20 minutes

The beets will turn everything beet-colored.

Now zest the lemon into the soup, then squeeze the juice into the pot.

zesting

zesting

Chop up the handful of parsley and at it to the mix.

parsley-ed

parsley-ed

Now grab your trusty immersion blender and go to town on the soup.

immersion blending

immersion blending

If you don’t have an immersion blender, you can use a food processor.

At this point, you can add more water if you like a soupier soup. Or, if you like it kinda of thick, leave it just the way it is.

soup!

soup!

Ladle it into a bowl and top with a dollop of Greek yogurt.

dinner

dinner

Enjoy your extremely nutritious (and delicious!) meal.

suck it, martha.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Food & Drink

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

