Roasted Eggplant Dip

I’m part of a CSA. You know, Community Supported Agriculture.

Since I didn’t have the sunlight or space for a vegetable garden until about 6 weeks ago, and I try to eat as local and pesticide free as possible, it’s the best possible choice for me.

from muppetwikia

from muppetwikia

And I’m supporting a local farmer.

from frontporchrepublic

from frontporchrepublic

However, being part of a CSA means you get a lot of the same vegetable, and all at one time.

from threechickstalkingaboutfood

from threechickstalkingaboutfood

Last summer, I was overrun with eggplants. When I opened my fridge, they had multiplied like baby rabbits.

from wallco

from wallco

Ok, it only seemed like they had.

And one can only eat so much eggplant parmesan…

thetenthrocks

from thetenthrocks

So what to do with the other 42 eggplants? I can’t waste food. Especially not such a beautiful vegetable so chock full or phytonutrients, antioxidants, and vitamins.

Eggplants are practically the Miss Teen Computer Science Pageant Winner–brains and beauty.

from ellen

from ellen

(I’m pretty sure that metaphor only worked in my head.)

So preheat the oven to 400, grab your organic, never-seen-a-pesticide eggplants,

eggplants

eggplants

your freshly-plucked, plump, organic tomatoes,

tomatoes

tomatoes

and your tiny-because-they’re-organic-and-just-came-out-of-the-dirt onions.

onions

onions

Slice everything up and spread it on a baking sheet. I always foil my baking sheets, because scrubbing roasted veggies off of baking sheets is not how I like to spend my Tuesday nights.

sliced & oiled

sliced

Drizzle it all with olive oil and scoop some garlic on there. Try to keep the garlic on top of the veggies and not on the foil. Burnt garlic isn’t great.

garlicky and oily

garlicky and oiled

Roast for about 15 minutes, then flip all the veggies. Roast for another 10, or until golden brown.

roasted

roasted

Put all the roasted veggies into a food processor.

pre-pulverizing

pre-pulverizing

Add a little more garlic and a dash of olive oil.

garlic & oil

garlic & oil

Pulse until smooth.

pulsed

pulsed

Now eat with crackers, veggies, or a spoon. Also really good on burgers or sandwiches!

snack!

snack!

suck it, martha.

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Food & Drink

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

One Comment on “Roasted Eggplant Dip”

  1. July 28, 2014 at 10:19 am #

    Wow, looks yummy!
    Here’s my go-to party recipe: http://sweetseatstreats.wordpress.com/2014/06/14/jalapeno-cheeseball/

Leave a Reply

